Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

WindfallWindfall by Jennifer E. Smith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Pan Macmillan Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Windfall’ by the lovely Jennifer E. Smith was a gorgeous tale of sweeping romance and an enormous amount of luck. 
Winning the lottery is no small feat, winning at the lottery of love is perhaps even bigger. I felt like this novel just had little something which made it completely irresistible and absolutely un-put-downable. Winning the lottery, let alone the big jackpot, is a fantasy which a lot of people harbour and it becomes so much more relevant when it could be just the thing which pulls you out of the bad luck the universe had dealt you. 
There was something about the story that gripped you and wouldn’t let you go from the very first page. It extended its claws of words and latched on to you so tightly that moving away from it would literally become painful. 
I spent my entire reading experience wishing for some alone time JUST so I could read the book. 
FOUR hundred and SIXTEEN pages of writing was not enough. 
When I finished it… I agonised over the fact that I had too much time and that I finished it too early. Because I wanted more. And as sadistic as this sounds, I wanted the exquisite torture of reading to last just a little bit longer. 
To satisfy my literary cravings I had to go back and reread the final chapter. And then rinse and repeat. I promise on pen and paper that I reread the last chapter at LEAST four times. This novel seemed absolutely determined to make the finale equal to – or even better! – than the entire novel. There was this cliffhanger that STRONGLY alluded to the ending that I wanted but WOULD NOT put it into words. And I wanted it in words, signed and stamped so I could make a contract out of it. Argh! It was as if the one thing I so much wanted was JUST THERE but CENTIMETRES out of reach. However, upon reflection, I do have to admit that this is also what made the ending to horribly good. 
If you want something that’s sweet, light-hearted yet beautiful and captivating I’d highly recommend ‘Windfall’.
On to characters:
Alone, I felt like each needed a little but more of that unnameable quality which would rocket my opinion of them. Most seemed slightly generic and I felt like I didn’t really know any of them truly well. Their fears and flaws were expressed but in a somewhat rose-tinted and sweetened version. I wanted a little bit more darkness. Something that would make me weep/cry at their pain as I would share it with them. 
Altogether… Now that is a completely different story. I’ve met one of the best ensemble of characters which MOVED the story to where it is now.
Additional note: ‘Windfall’ was subtlety and intricately sexually diverse. Not only was there the normal heterosexual relationship,  it also included homosexuality. 
There were a couple of cliches such as the forbidden best-friend romance and the stereotypical popular bad boy, yet this didn’t draw from the novel. Ultimately, this was an exploration of LUCK and FORTUNE. And that is what mattered. 
Congratulations to Jennifer E. Smith on the publication of her CHARMING novel! Can’t wait to read more of you!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

