Review: Midsummer at Eyre Hall (Eyre Hall Trilogy, #3) Luccia Gray

Midsummer at Eyre Hall (Eyre Hall Trilogy #3)Midsummer at Eyre Hall by Luccia Gray
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Luccia Gray in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Midsummer at Eyre Hall’ is the third and FINAL instalment in the ‘Eyre Hall’ trilogy! I can’t believe that everything has finally come to a close and Jane and her friends and family can now finish this chapter in their lives.

What I love most about this series is the beautiful prose which has started in the first novel and has lasted until this very last one. It is not unusual for authors to sometimes stray from their original styles and ideas for a series. I’ve also encountered LOTS of novels where second book syndrome has suddenly struck down a series. Or even more worse, the series just lost that original flare. This has not been so with ‘Midsummer at Eyre Hall’! It’s grasp on me remained true and steady!

I’m quite amazed at the amount that has happened just in the course of THIS novel! There were betrayals and deaths and births and new loves. Honestly, listing all that had happened would take me a mighty long while and you would get more pleasure out of picking up this series (or instalment) and reading it. I loved the wild adventure that the author had put ALL her readers on! There was this constant an quick pace that continued on relentlessly until the very last page. And even then it promised for more! I loved that it kept me gripped and reading without an ounce of boredom. I really can’t remember even one moment where I would yawn with boredom: tiredness and lack of sleep definitely! But never, ever boredom!

I especially loved how the events remained real and true. There wasn’t anything that would make me doubt the authenticity and poignancy of ANY moment! The characters really pulled through in this department. I very much admired the creativity and originality of some of these events. They weren’t limited in any way and I really enjoyed that!

The characters, as I’ve mentioned above, were spectacular! The wide array and number of them was a definite part of what made this novel a solid four star. I’ve had the pleasure of reading from the points of view of the most fascinating and in-depth personalities which brought so much flavour and intrigue to its readers. I loved the introduction of some of the new characters and their subsequent role in Jane Eyre’s life. I also loved the way they presented themselves, how we readers were sometimes influence to misjudge their true characters. They were rich and vibrant! Amongst my most favourite was the sin-eater. I really couldn’t get over his fantastic creation and the fact that he played such an interesting role in the novel. He has left a definite imprint on my mind! I would love to see a short story or novella about him!

I felt like this series was a great expansion and addition to the original ‘Jane Eyre’. I had nothing to critique about its development and the progression of Jane’s life. It was a fantastic “what-could-have-been”! I felt like it remained true to Jane Eyre in every way. It had that deep, sorrowful and powerful atmosphere which permeated most of ‘Jane Eyre’ as well as the hardships that Jane faced. The era was painted gorgeously and brought to life some of its hardships.

Congratulations to Luccia Gray on publishing a wonderful conclusion in the ‘Eyre Hall’ trilogy!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Midsummer at Eyre Hall (Eyre Hall Trilogy, #3) Luccia Gray

  1. LucciaGray says:

    Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I really appreciate it, and I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I thoroughly enjoyed writing Midsummer at Eyre Hall, although it was a bitter-sweet experience reaching the end of the trilogy and saying goodbye to my beloved characters. I’ve strated another novel, set after Jane’s death. The characters are from the Eyre Hall Trilogy, but none of them are from the original Jane Eyre (they have all died). It was too hard to leave them behind…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

