Review: Reflection – Thorn of the White Rose (Records of the Ohanzee, #3) by Rachel R. Smith

Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose (Records of the Ohanzee, #3)Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose by Rachel R. Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Rachel R. Thompson in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose’ is the fourth and final instalment in the ‘Records of the Ohanzee’ series, and one I enjoyed very much. I really admired how easy it was to pick the novel up and just read. And read. And read. It was also one of the quickest reads AND one of the most well written I’ve come across from YA self-published/indie-published authors. If you’re looking for something similar to ‘And I Darken’ or ‘Ranger’s Apprentice’, then this series will definitely make your day.

Rachel R. Smith continues to deliver in her writing. Not one sentence sounded unpolished nor were there any awkward turns of phrases which seem to fill most self-published novels. Everything in the prose was of high quality and the experience the author has in writing definitely makes itself known. Not one typo did I spot! (I sound like Yoda!!) And reading ‘Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose’ was like gently immersing yourself into a warm bath, or drinking a delicious hot cocoa. Just right.

Talking of immersing oneself. I could easily and shocking quickly attach myself to Nerissa (Caenas) and all the supporting characters. Never did I feel like there was any barrier which prevented me from doing so. My only wish was that the characters had a bit more originality to them. They seemed a little too perfect for my liking, and they fit the standard mold for fantasy characters too readily. I wanted Nerissa to be just a little bit different. Just a little bit more unique. However, I have no other qualms other than that. The history and backgrounds of these characters were fairly well developed. They seemed vibrant and alive if maybe not the richest on the shelf.

This instalment continues to development of a certain love-triangle. I’m…okay…with it so far, mainly because I love my romance, and will usually put up with a lot just to see it followed through. I don’t have anything about it to nit-pick at, however, I do want it to be just a little more believable. I get the feeling that Nerissa is just falling into the whole lovey-dovey thing to easily. It would have been nice to see SOME sort of resistance to the idea of a romance, or at least some explanation for it – like a more idepth look into the inner thoughts of Nerissa. I felt like Nerissa’s reasoning for her attraction to her partners in crime was just a little feeble. I wanted more tension! Anticipation! Suspense! And a little bit more chemistry please!

Great plot movement in this instalment! Lots of action and heap of progress towards the finale, though I’m still not quite sure where the author is leading me. There is definitely more world-building happening here and I can’t see how it all goes down in ‘Reflection: Dragon’s Bane’.

Congratulations to Rachel R. Smith on publishing her third instalment in the ‘Records of the Ohanzee’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

