Review: Reflection – Harbinger of the Pheonix (Records of the Ohanzee, #2) by Rachel R. Smith

Reflection: Harbinger of the Phoenix (Records of the Ohanzee, #2)Reflection: Harbinger of the Phoenix by Rachel R. Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Rachel R. Thompson in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Reflection: Harbinger of the Phoenix’ was certainly amongst the BEST self-published/independently-published fantasy novels which I’ve had the pleasure of reading. I’ve really enjoyed the first instalment in the series and I can guarantee any reader that this series (and novel) will be one of the MOST pleasantly surprising novels they’ll have read in a while!

This has probably been the most fastest yet one of the best YA reads I’ve picked up in a LOOOONG time. If you’ve read the blurb and remember it, you may have noticed that it mentions a “serialised style with a storyline that flows continuously between books.” This means that this instalment read unlike many novels. There wasn’t the usual introduction, then the complication and resolution sort of structure. In fact, the novel appeared to be more of an expansion of the story in book 1. I get the feeling the entire series is more like one giant book which is ENTIRELY to large to publish as one novel, and it has been split exactly into quarters for easier readability.

One of the perks was how quickly I read the instalment. It’s 200+ pages were read in less than 3 hours. Of course, the credit goes not only to its length but to its plot as well.

Every moment had some unique pearl in it that managed to keep me reading with a fairly constant intrigue. Despite the lack of an official “complication” and the somewhat…calm…storyline of the novel, (by calm I mean there wasn’t anything that could be deemed as MOMENTOUS in the plot and that it wasn’t heavy on the reader) I really enjoyed the read. It was a little bit of a confusion returning to the world after being introduced to it so long ago in book one, but I caught on fairly quickly and this didn’t really diminish from the reading experience.

I absolutely loved the romances and couples in this series. I felt like the author made them believable and every moment was tense with chemistry and the possibility of the unknown.

This leads me to the author’s writing. I loved the flow and the professionalism which oozed from every word on the page. Reading the first few pages was like savouring a favourite candy. It was sweet and held the promise of more. I loved how liberal imagery was something the author didn’t fail to neglect. Every word appeared clearly in my minds eye and this really made itself know during moments like battle scenes which involve intensely packed, high-action.

And I loved the world-building. I feel that the author has done a great job creating a world where everything about it has been slowly revealed – bit by bit – and will astound and astonish all it’s readers in the final instalments. Already I’m looking forward to reading books three and four! I can’t wait to see how it all goes down!

Congratulations to Rachel R. Smith on publishing the second instalment in the ‘Records of the Ohanzee’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

