Review: Destiney Risen (Starbright, #3) by Hilary Thompson

Destiny Risen (Starbright series Book 3)Destiny Risen by Hilary Thompson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hilary Thompson in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Destiny Risen’ is the third and FINAL instalment in the wild and magical ‘Starbright’ series by Hilary Thompson. When I first picked up this series, I just knew that it was going to leave me enchanted and reeling. I loved the exploration of a dystopian society where astrology became the central faith and religion as a way to overcome the dark times that had fallen upon humanity. The past two instalments had taken me on an a crazy and hectic journey that left me eager for the series finale.

‘Destiny Risen’ definitely shone in the “characters” department. There was such a vast array of personalities that there was never a moment were I would feel like the novel was lacking. I loved how in-depth and complex they were, mainly because their richness allowed for the plot to always remain interesting and their contributions towards it varies as much as their personalities.

For every antagonist, there was an equally powerful protagonist, and vice versa. So many novels written have extremely powerful protagonists that dominate the story. Their power is unmatched and they are risen to such power and…perfection…that any antagonist just doesn’t create enough resistance to make the story believable. This was not so in ‘Destiny Risen’ and I am so glad of that.

There was a GREAT plot. It was a solid roller-coaster of an adventure that took me from one place to another and then back again. I enjoyed the constant movement and the quick yet steady pace that the author created. Looking back, I can’t recall ever skipping a page or two. And that’s a big deal to me. The author managed to keep me reading even the slightly “boring” parts and the parts where action needed to be a tiny bit slower in order for a better progress of events later on.

However, the one thing I regretted most was that it had been such a long time since I had read books one and two. I felt like the significance of Astrea’s and Lexan’s journey to the Garden was lost to me, partially. I had a bit of a hard time recalling all the events and the intricacies of the previous instalments. I would highly recommend rereading those novels before venturing into ‘Destiny Risen’!

Hilary Thompson beautifully wove tension and anticipation into each chapter of her novel. There was always a constant on-edge feeling that permeated the novel. Any and all surprises had me shocked even though I should have expected them.

I also loved, loved, loved the little snippets of the world’s history at the beginning of each chapter. I felt that they gave the novel tangibility and really took the world-building to another level.

An epic conclusion to the novel. It had me crying and laughing and just generally loving every moment of it. I did not expect it and was very happy with it!
Congratulations to Hilary Thompson on publishing the epic finale to the ‘Starbright’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

