Review: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Great ExpectationsGreat Expectations by Charles Dickens
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

‘Great Expectations’ isn’t my favourite of all the classics I’ve read. Why? The characters just didn’t appeal to me.
For the majority of the novel, I felt like I was following Pip as he fell under one influence, then under another. First under the influence of the escaped prisoner, then the crazy Miss Havisham, then the seduction of Estella. Pip was like a Ping-Pong ball. Bouncing around from one place to another. He didn’t for himself know what he really wanted and needed to be happy and he left his family behind too easily.
There were only a couple of things that he did right in the novel. That was helping people. He helped those who needed it.
Congratulations to Charles Dicken for his interesting exploration of Bildungsroman.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

