Review: A List of Cages by Robin Roe

A List of CagesA List of Cages by Robin Roe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Disney-Hyperion via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘A List of Cages’ was emotionally destructive. I honestly don’t know how I’m functioning right now, except that I probably won’t be able to cry for another MONTH because my tear ducts have been overused and dried up and on the verge of falling off because they have been put through so much stress. I usually keep away from novels I know are going to emotionally wreck me (mainly because I like to enjoy my books and experience happiness rather than pain and hurt). And I REALLY don’t know why I did what I did and requested this novel for review. However, there is one thing that I definitely know and that is the decision was right one.

And I have one announcement to make which I would like to broadcast to EVERY reader out there:

BE PREPARED TO SOB AND WAIL; YET BE PREPARED TO LAUGH UNTIL YOUR SIDES SPLINTER!

What I loved the absolute most about ‘A List of Cages’ is that it made me laugh and snort shamelessly in public. This is one of those book that can’t help but bring a grin and a smile to your face because it is both so humorous and the character’s goodness shines through in their actions and antics. Adam Blake and his friends are one good group, that I can promise to you, despite all their mistakes as they fumble through life and adolescence.

Yet this novel had me gasping and choking on my own breaths. As I read the not so happy parts – ones that were often so very dark they had me in mental turmoil so deep I had to leave the novel for a little and focus on something uplifting – I found myself emotionally investing myself ONE HUNDRED PERCENT. There was not an ounce of me that wasn’t giving all of myself as a reader into breathing life into the story within my mind’s eye. And that was purely for one reason…

THE WRITING WAS PHENOMENAL. Full stop. Capital letters. I’s dashed and t’s crossed.

One of my greatest fears was that the novel would read and sound poorly DESPITE the depth and beauty of the concept that forged this story. I really dislike stereotypically high-school set novels because it is such an overused setting and it just doesn’t bring out the best in most novels. I also dislike contemporary novels which are based on real-life teens. The teens often seem to dramatise the very smallest and struggle through struggles that seem mediocre. As soon as I was a chapter into ‘A List of Cages’ I considered all my previous worries smashed. Vanquished. Completely and utterly obliterated. Not only because Robin Roe did nothing of what I listed above, but because she worked the entirety of the novel to her complete advantage until she had wrung out only the best and the highest of quality from her masterpiece.

I honestly can’t convey how much this novel had touched my heart and my soul. If I could convey just 10% of the depth of my satisfaction and joy with reading ‘A List of Cages’, I hope it would make its presence know in this review.

Please, go pick this novel up! Then pick a spot to sit and read. I promise you, you will not be able to leave.

Congratulations to Robin Roe on the publishing an astonishingly gripping debut! I CANNOT wait for more from her!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

