Review: The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga, #1) by Elise Kova

The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga, #1)The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Keymaster Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Alchemists of Loom’ is the first, amazing instalment in the ‘Loom Saga’ and one I had placed great expectations on before launching into it. Elise Kova’s ‘Air Awakens’ YA series is my all-time favourite series by a hybrid author and is beyond compare. If you haven’t read any of Elise Kova’s works before, I would highly recommend starting with the ‘Air Awakens’ series!

The ‘Loom Saga’ was different from Elise Kova’s previous works as it was intended for an adult audience instead of a young-adult one. This sort of made me wary as I was unsure how much would change in the author’s writing style and whether this new work would be anything that I would enjoy. However, it was also targeted towards mature YA readers so it made for a more harsh, graphic and sexy read.

Upon opening the novel, I expected more passion, chemistry and unfiltered sexytimes within the writing. However, what surprised me was that although the passion and chemistry between developing romances was definitely more charged and hot, there weren’t any sexy scenes at all. Only once was there a strong illusion towards such an event, but even then it was described as “character A had lain with character B”.

It was interesting reading about a main character, Arianna, who was bisexual. Her relationship with Florence and a slowly blossoming one with Cvareh made for interesting developments within the plot. I enjoyed the diversity this brought to the author’s writing AND the series. It was a good reflection of present day societal opinions and issues, especially since it is acceptable for the Fenthri (the citizens of Loom) to mate to the same sex, but it would prove the mating fruitless.

Arianna was definitely one of my favourite characters and the most engaging and complex one I have come across yet. She was strong and brutal and deeply wounded by a difficult past. She was headstrong, stubborn, clever, genius and resourceful. However, she was able to EVOLVE and change as life and circumstances gave her new knowledge and experiences.

Cvareh was a formidle rival character for Arianna. It was interesting how the two were incredibly similar yet different. The attraction between Cvareh and Ariana was something fragile and delicate throughout the entire novel, yet also beautiful and enchanting for the same reasons.

I honestly can’t describe how fascinating and detailed the world of Loom was to me. Elise Kova did a miraculous job in creating a world which was all too tangible and all too spellbinding. She met all my expectations and then some in her new series!

Congratulations to Elise Kova on publishing we first adult fantasy series! I can’t wait for the sequel, ‘The Dragons of Nova’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

