Review: Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1) by Alwyn Hamilton

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Faber and Faber Ltd via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Rebel of the Sands’ was a refreshing read that had me returning to it time and time again. I would highly recommend it to readers who are seeking a little danger, and little Arabian fantasy and a whole lot of heat!

My only problem with this novel was that THERE WASN’T ENOUGH ROMANCE! Amani and Jin had excellent romantic potential and the few times they kissed there was a whole heap of chemistry. I wanted that to be explored more! There wasn’t enough romantic development between Amani and Jin. The two had hardly any time to connect! I was on the edge of my seat for more chemistry and passion between the two, that by the end of the novel it was a letdown to not have enough of that. Literally every single time those two kissed and I was like, “FINALLY, this novel is going SOMEWHERE in the sexytimes department!!!” But NOOOOOOOO. Some random character would always come along to disrupt the two.

WHYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!

So much wasted potential. And I’m even more sad now that the sequel’s blurb says that Amani will be ripped from the arms of her love. NOW HOW IN THE WORLD WILL THERE BE ANT LURVEEE GOING AROUND?????!!!

Now, that the rants over, let me get to what I really enjoyed about ‘Rebel of the Sands’.

I was spellbound by the whole idea of Djinni sleeping/falling in love with mortal women and producing Demjin. Sort of like half-bloods and demi-gods, except heaps better. These Demjin were wild and exotic. It was a pleasure reading about them and their powers.

I loved that I could taste the desert heat and the bite of the wind. It was like Amani’s world came to life right before my eyes from the very first page.

FANTASTIC world-building on behalf of Alwyn Hamilton. I enjoyed the very many countries mentioned as well as the political strife woven so cleverly into the plot. I LOVED the tales of the Djinni, the Baraqui and the Origin myth. I was initially so afraid to pick up this novel, mainly because it had the very strong chance of not living up to the hype. I can easily say that I needn’t have been so worried.

A great writing style and prose. Easy language that allowed me to fall deep into the world and didn’t let me escape it for quite a while.

I feel that the plot could have been a bit better than it currently is. I wanted machinations and betrayals and secrets and surprises. There was just a small lack of them and it was sorely missed. The villains didn’t seem quite so villainous and the dangers not quite as dangerous. I’m extremely excited about the sequel. I feel like that’s where the author will either make or break the series. And from the sound of the blurb and my own need for a spectacular ‘Traitor to the Throne’, I really hope the author makes it.

Congratulations to Alwyn Hamilton on publishing her beautiful debut!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

