Review: Hidden Desire (Hidden Saga, #6) by Amy Patrick

Hidden Desire (Hidden Saga #6)Hidden Desire by Amy Patrick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Amy Patrick in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Hidden Desire’ is the LAST instalment in the ‘Hidden Saga’!!!!! Can anyone believe it! After reading this novel I felt like there should be more, More, MORE! Argh! My biggest wish is that Amy Patrick writes short stories to show a bit of the future lives of each happy couple. And I’m talking wedding ceremonies, honeymoons and babies galore!
Like all the previous novels in the series, there was a great romance story that had me hoping and wishing at every turn for Culley and Laney to get together. Amy Patrick made the connection and attraction between them absolutely natural. Not for one moment did I doubt that these two belong together; their personalities just made them compatible for all the right reasons.

Amy Patrick’s sweet and poignant loving style continues to make its presence know. There was a lovely flow in the writing and natural progression in the plot. However, I felt like this novel just didn’t quite live up to the rest of the series. There just wasn’t that UMPH that the rest of the series had.

I felt like the whole problem surrounding the S Scourge and the battles between the Light and Dark courts was just not as great as it could of been. The problem was dragged on for one novel more when it could have been exaggerated and developed more. What’s more, this scourge and battle between the courts was resolved in one easy and single action. This was probably the only downfall of the novel.

I really enjoyed the depth of emotion the author was able to use in her writing. I felt the longing Culley felt for Laney and the hatred he felt for himself and all his past wrong-doings. I felt Laney’s desperation to finally live the life she wanted too, yet also the betrayal she felt at the injustices life had served her. This is a piece that will get you wrapped up in a heady swoon of emotions both wild and passionate.

A great use of tension and anticipation. The author prolongs the buildup to a long-awaited event with skill and dexterity. I was on the edge of my seat and anxious for the majority of the novel. Then, when I couldn’t expect anything more, the author would deliver it.

The plot was well thought out, and just when I thought I knew where the story would go, the author would decide to take me on an entirely different path! It was both a joyful and an exhilarating ride!

If you’re looking for a romance with a dash of fantasy, then look no further. You’ll find all you want in the ‘Hidden Saga’ and more!

Congratulations to Amy Patrick on publishing the gorgeous finale in the ‘Hidden Saga’! I can’t wait for more of your work!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

