Review: Alaska Wild by Helena Newbury

Alaska WildAlaska Wild by Helena Newbury
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Helena Newbury in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Alaska Wild’ was exciting, adventurous and hotter than the Aussie summer heat! I’ve enjoyed a great many novels by Helena Newbury, but I must admit that this is my new favourite!

The author has REALLY mastered her use setting and place! Each moment was like delving into the frigid, beautiful tundra of Alaska. I could feel the cold slowly creep up my legs and to my shoulders. I could smell the icy sharpness of the biting air. I could clearly see the expanse of forest and plains as Kate and Mason (Boone) traveled and hiked for their survival. It was a really enchanting setting that had me shivering with both fear as anticipation. I loved the originality in the author’s choice to set the wildly romantic novel there!

As always, Helena Newbury launches us straight into the story. The first few chapters gave a rapid and intriguing introduction to our main characters. It was just short enough that a quick and deadly pace was established, yet long enough for the reader to really revel in the harsh climate and establish a strong bond with Kate, who’s perspective narrates the first few short chapters.

The action and adventure were extremely potent in this novel! Every moment was riddled with either survival, escape or battle. I loved the amount of thought and the complexity of the problems which were created. There was a LOT of them! Yet, they flowed together incredibly well and there was not one moment where I wondered whether the whole novel was just too much.

And don’t get me started on the characters themselves. Kate and Mason had such rich identities that I was left extremely happy as a reader. Mason’s was with himself and past trauma made the novel almost a psychological thriller! There was such realism and tangible qualities to him! He was a real, breathing person who changed – EVOLVED – over the course of the story.

And Kate was nothing less. Her own battles and experiences made her a formidable female protagonist that I would love to see more of in future novels.

Chemistry and romance between these two was OFF THE CHARTS. Kate and Mason didn’t fall in love straight away. Their love for each other was an incredible journey full of perils that made the end utterly believable. A high level of attraction just made this the steamiest read of all of Helena Newbury’s novels!

There was an awesome plot set in motion from the very beginning. No plot holes that I could detect and I loved that.

One thing that I found a draw back was the constant use of Russians. Russia and its citizens seem to be a prime theme that has reappeared time and time again in the author’s most recent novels. Most often they are enemies – which I find stereotypical – but other times they end up on the good side. I would love to see something else from the author!

Congratulations to Helena Newbury in publishing the awesome ‘Alaska Wild’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

