Review: When the Sun Courts the Moon – Part 1 (Kiwi Bride, #3) by Alexia Praks

When the Sun Courts the Moon (Kiwi Bride, #3)When the Sun Courts the Moon by Alexia Praks
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Alexia Praks in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘When the Sun Courts the Moon – Part 1’ follows Chandra Chandler, a New Zealander who’s has moved to Australia to escape a dark and painful past, and Sam Harrington, the CEO of a hotel chain and the single dad of a seven-year old.

One of the biggest changes I’ve noticed about Alexia Praks’s writing is the vast improvement in her grammar and prose. Her earlier works, which I’ve read, seemed a lot like drafts and the grammar was significantly less substantial compared to her more later works, such as this novel. The writing flows with greater elegance and meaning which allowed for a more clearer view of the author’s style. There were only a couple of times where I’ve had to reread a sentence once or twice in order to better understand what I author was trying to convey. However, certain turns of phrasing and sentences sounded as if they needed reworking and they didn’t make sense to use in a certain context and you wouldn’t normally see them in romance novels.

There was significantly less telling rather than showing and I very much admired that.

The story was very much fairy-tale like and in that it has both advantages…and clear disadvantages. The advantages of such a story is its depth of romanticism. Sometimes the story was borderline unbelievable like many fairy-tales. It was enjoyable in most circumstances as it allowed for the most hilarious and sometimes absurdly romantic events to occur. Other times, I really disliked it as it went above and beyond believable for exactly the same reasons.

I felt like the plot could have been worked on a little more as the majority of the novel seemed more like an introduction to the events that would happen in part 2. It stretched on for a very long time and I sometimes wondered why all these events happened when the author could have written less with more UMPH to it.

I felt that the characters were vaguely superficial and could have had more depth to them. There were all these facts about them but I didn’t entirely feel that they had HISTORY or BACKGROUND. I just couldn’t entirely connect or understand any of the characters.

The novel was entirely too short. I also wondered why the author stressed the pronunciation of Chandra as JUNDRA so often. This could have been revealed in a more subtle and graceful manoeuvre.

I didn’t enjoy the many love triangles that went on as well as the multiple hints at the potential romantic couplings of all the rest of the female supporting characters. It was as if it was a “let’s-marry-everyone-off” novel. The two love-triangles were between Sam-Chan-Nina and Chan-Sam-Jeremy. Honestly, there was so much romantic potentiality in this novel that the roof could have exploded with chemistry.

Congratulations to Alexia Praks on publishing the latest instalment in the ‘Kiwi Bride’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

