Review: Dylan (Bad Boys After Dark, #2) by Melissa Foster

Bad Boys After Dark: Dylan (Bad Boys After Dark, #2; Billionaires After Dark #6; Love in Bloom #48)Bad Boys After Dark: Dylan by Melissa Foster
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Melissa Foster via Beck Valley Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Dylan’ is the second novella instalment in the ‘Bad Boys After Dark’ series. It was hot, sexy and completely head-over-heals romantic! I love that this novella series can be read as a standalone. Mainly, due to the fact that it has been ages since it have read the first instalment in the series. It also allows for a great, quick winter/summer read when you are in need of something to pick you up after a dry spell.
I loved the romance and happily-ever-after that infused every single aspect of this novella. It was bright and cherry most of the time: something to make an avid reader’s soul sing. Yet, it also managed to encapsulate realistic problems that often arise in relationships, making it vastly authentic and wholly tangible.
Both Dylan and Tiffany had problems which they had to overcome. For them it was very interpersonal. Dylan had trouble with overcoming his need to always be the knight in shining armour; Tiffany harboured past relationship trauma which greatly impacted her ability to place trust in others. The two seemed well matched and I loved their quirky and witty conversations with each other. They were real people with real personalities.
Lots of background was placed behind each of the main characters. Tiffany and Dylan both had big families which were created with meaning and depth. I love this about Melissa Foster’s storytelling! Family and love is the central theme and it never tires in my eyes.
Unfortunately, I would sometimes lose interest in the story and plot. I wished that there was faster pace and sometimes the events seemed to drag on. I also found it hard to connect with this couple at a depth that would have me on the edge of my seat and my heart in tatters like with previous couples in the series.
The writing flowed well and there weren’t any typos that I couldn’t spot. Easy to read language written in a highly experienced and professional prose.
If you pick up this novel, be prepared to read some SERIOUS sexy times. 😛
Congratulations to Melissa Foster on publishing the second, loveable series in the ‘Bad Boys After Dark’ series! I’m extremely eager to meet Carson!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that it’s 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

