Review: The Adventure of the Speckled Band (The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, #8) by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Adventure of the Speckled Band (The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes #8)The Adventure of the Speckled Band by Arthur Conan Doyle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

‘The Adventure of the Speckled Band’ is the eighth short story instalment in the novel, ‘The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes’.
This short story is about Helen Stoner, who consults Sherlock Holmes about the death of her twin sister, Julia, who died before her wedding, crying that: “It was the speckled band!” Holmes must investigate their mother’s estate and the unpleasant Dr. Roylott, Helen’s stepfather, who allows gypsies to camp on his estate and has both a cheetah and a baboon running amok in the grounds.
This short story managed to reel me in and keep me gripped right when I thought it was a lost cause. Not all short stories to my taste, but this one out did many others for me.
The one drawback I found was the deductions which Sherlock made. They made absolutely no relatable sense to me, and I really disliked that.
Congratulations to Arthur Conan Doyle on writing ‘The Adventure of the Speckled Band’.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

