Review: Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

Tell Us Something TrueTell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Bloomsbury Publishing Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Tell Us Something True’ was my first novel by Dana Reinhardt… And, unfortunately I wasn’t very into it. I couldn’t – and didn’t – connect to River and the whole story was just too…average and monotonous for me.
1. The writing was average. It was too simple and boring for me. Dana Reinhardt did a good job conveying her ideas but her words did little to nothing to intrigue me in the story. It was like one massive recount, yet also an attempt at a fictional story. I know that these types of novels aim to teach their readers some sort of moralistic message or to bring up an issue that effects everybody, but I just wasn’t into it. I got what River was going through…however I didn’t think twice about it later on.
2. The main character, River, was AGONISING to read about! He honestly was THE most clingy, immature, low self-esteemed person that I’ve had the displeasure of reading about. Every action and thought he had was about him. And ONLY him. His sadness (I will not dignify his emotions and call them grief or depression) over loosing his girlfriend, Penny, are so self-pitying and hopeless that I could start to see why Penny broke up with him in the first place. River then proceeds to lie to everyone that he comes across. He lies to get help for something he doesn’t need because it gets him attention. And when he “meets an amazing girl”, River decides that all the trouble he’s created isn’t enough. He starts manipulating people, too. River has a poor attitude. He is utterly hate-worthy. Halfway through the novel, and I wanted to chuck the book against the wall. But it’s a book. Hurting it would be sacrilege. However, shaking the book and whisper-shouting “Get a life!!!!!” isn’t.
3. ‘Tell Us Something True’ was basically a recount of the silly life of yet another stupid/ignorant/self-obsessed teenager by the name of River. A recount: That’s all it was. Oh, do I hear you ask about a plot? What plot? What is the meaning of this word?
The plot didn’t exist. I fell asleep a dozen times whilst reading this novel and I honesty cannot describe how dry and painful it was finishing it.
Would you like to know what I did when I finished reading the novel? I REWARDED myself with a tub of ice cream and are mud cake. Because I was steaming on the inside and needed something to soothe my grated reader’s soul.
4. The novel initially sold itself as coming-of-age themed. It had a cute idea/concept that promised a lot! It screamed romantic-comedy!
Alas, it didn’t deliver. Anything vaguely humorous or entertaining or joking that the author tried to incorporate just didn’t work. I didn’t laugh. I didn’t like it. I kept asking myself, “Why?”.
5. When E. Lockhart said, “I promise you’ll fall in love with River Dean…” she was lying. I REALLY didn’t like River by the end of the novel. His problems only seemed superficially resolved and in no way did I feel that he actually learned from his mistakes. E. Lockhart was, however, completely right about the following: “…he’s a faker, a stalker, a non-driver, a bad dancer, a bad friend and a co-dependent mess.” That, my fellow, dear readers, is a complete truth. Read at your own peril.
Congratulations to Dana Reinhardt on publishing her latest novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

