Review: Paper and Fire (The Great Library, #2) by Rachel Caine

Paper and Fire (The Great Library, #2)Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Paper and Fire
Author: Rachel Caine
Published: 27 July 2016
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
RRP: $16.99

Review

‘Paper and Fire’ by Rachel Caine is the SECOND, and very much highly-anticipated novel in ‘The Great Library’ series. I LOVED the first novel, ‘Ink and Bone’ so my expectations for this novel were high.
The series has AMAZING world-building. Each aspect of this new, fantastical world was created with a depth that still astounds me. There is the Great Library of Alexandria, the governing system of the world which centres around their motto of knowledge being more precious than the lives of people. However, their rule is tyrannous and they readily and frequently execute those that defy their rule or pose an unsuspecting threat. The rule is so powerful that it has extended for hundreds of years. I fell in love with this world of suspense, myth, magic, alchemy, books and mystery. However, this sequel did not deliver. It still had that foundation of epic-ness due to the world-building, but it did NOTHING to expand on it. I wanted MORE from this beautiful, majestic and corrupt world! And it brought nothing new to the table!
I expected the adventure to extend and flourish, for Jess’s fight for freedom and right to reach even bigger proportions. Regretfully, all his team of friends did was save the life of another friend. It was a good and heroic act, but it provided no movement to the actual plot or storyline. What was so important about this friend that it risked losing momentum in saving the world?
I lost interest in this novel so many times it was ridiculous. Only the most insignificant of moments interested me at times. And the finale is what had me upping my rating of the novel. It gave me something to actually look forward to and enjoy. And the writing was too good for the novel to be anything less than a FOUR star.
There was a definite case of second-book syndrome. Hopefully the third instalment will rectify that and FINALLY give me what I want. A book worthy of a five star.

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

