Review: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

The Devil You KnowThe Devil You Know by Trish Doller
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Bloomsbury Publishing Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Devil You Know’ was my first novel by Trish Doller – and one that was a disappointment to me. I felt that the novel overall wasn’t…bad or completely terrible…however it just didn’t live up to what I expected it to be. And there were a million reasons for it.
1. The whole story/idea/concept was overused and felt dry and unoriginal. It followed the archetypical storyline with nothing that popped out or set itself apart as unique. It’s now been a little while since I’ve read the novel, and as I’m writing this review, I’m REALLY struggling to remember how the story went. This just goes to show that the ‘The Devil You Know’ was as unmemorable as they get.
2. The point above leads me to how the novel made me feel after I finished reading it. A very little, teeny-tiny bit scared? Yeah. However, nothing overly more than that. And that is what frustrates me so. I didn’t even strongly dislike the novel! If I did, it would have AT LEAST given me something to write in the painstaking review.
3. The cover also didn’t sell the novel very well. It definitely carried the spooky atmosphere the novel tried to capture but it just wasn’t aesthetically PLEASING. It was mediocre. Average. Unembellished. AND THIS NOVEL NEEDED SOME EMBELISHEMENT! My head was lolling with boredom and lack of interested when my starving, reader’s eyes first set themselves upon this novel. My eyes needed something to feast on! This just made the whole reading experience a let down. Right from the beginning…
4. I couldn’t and DIDN’T engage with any of the characters. I also didn’t particularly carry any favours for ANY of them. As a reader, this was yet another let down. How in the WORLD was I supposed to keep reading this novel if I couldn’t bond with any of the characters?
5. The main female lead, Arcadia, was more stupid than…the stupidest thing you can think of. Hasn’t anybody told this girl about stranger danger? Oh, and the fact that YOU DONT GO ON A ROADTRIP WITH TWO MALE STRANGERS WHO COULD DO ANYTHING TO YOU!!! Also…YOU DONT START HAVING SEX AND A ROMANTIC RELATIONSHIP WITH SAID MALE STRANGERS!! Literally, every action that Arcadia took had me banging my head against the wall. I’m fairy sure said wall had developed cracks, fissures and then a gaping whole.
6. On the bright side, ‘The Devil You Know’ had GREAT chemistry. Like, piping hot chemistry. I really wouldn’t recommend reading this novel in warm weather or when it’s 30 degrees Celsius plus. It will really make you blush all the more pronounced.
7. The prose and writing were definitely solidly and beautifully done. I didn’t like the plot but the style and technique in which Trish Doller executed her novel was definitely an aspect which I could potentially applaud her for, had I met her in real life.
8. Would I recommend this novel? Maybe. I just think there are better novels out there that you could be reading right now. This novel is more of a back-up one where you don’t know what to read next.
Congratulations to Trish Doller on the publication of her third, thriller novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

