Review: Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow, #1) by Danielle Paige

Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow, #1)Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Bloomsbury Publishing Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Stealing Snow’ was just SOO mediocre! It was as AVERAGE as you can possibly get in this whole entire world. Like, think of the most everyday/common/average/typical thing in your life and it will be SOO much more mediocre. It just didn’t work for me. It was like eating plain cereal for breakfast…bland.
Here are my thoughts on what made me crown this novel the Queen of Mediocre for the year:
1. The cover IS intriguing. No, I wouldn’t say it’s the most gorgeous thing I’ve ever seen this year, but it definitely has bits and pieces that pull you in and make you want to take a closer look. I felt like this was an accurate representation of what the novel/story was like. At least what the author had hoped the story would turn out to be: Intriguing, unique, beautiful and entirely original. This ARC came to me wrapped up so beautifully and with a Raffaello (yes, the confectionary) inside it. It was beautiful (and very great marketing/publicity) and I was SOO keen to read ‘Stealing Snow’…until I opened the first page…
2. The writing style was…wait, hang on. What writing style? I couldn’t see any writing style! There was absolutely NO writing style to this novel WHATSOEVER! Hang on a second, was that a beautifully written sentence I saw there? Nope. Just my tired and bored eyes deceiving me. So boring. And so bland. Just the whole thing was bland. Where was the author when she wrote this! And how come this whole novel felt like some sort of mashed up fanfiction?! Argh.
3. Character development was…oh, wait! Hang in again! What character development are we talking about again? *sigh* I swear, ‘Stealing Snow’ introduced this whole variety of characters (awesome, kickass and mentally unstable ones) who would have been INCREDIBLY fascinating to read about due to their mentally unstable qualities but the author didn’t manage to pull it off. The characters just hung there limply like old/unfinished rag dolls made to play the part of some epic story and just being unable to pull it off. Because they’re obviously prototypes. Because this novel is obviously Danielle Page’s very first completed manuscript – the one before she wrote ‘The Wicked Will Rise’.
4. There was a love quadrilateral. Or is that a love square? There were WAYYYY too many love interests for Snow to have. Like, waaaaay too many. Having one love interest is pretty swoon-worthy. Having two love interests makes the novel a stereotypical love-triangle. Having THREE love interests is just way to much. Our characters cannot be THAT attractive. I mean, how many boys is a girl got to be able to seduce? And there are just too many romantic connections created for the story to be successfully pulled off and with a decent and logical ending. Having three different love interests for Snow was also mighty confusing. As I read, I didn’t know who to favour and who to ship Snow with. I liked Bale and the childhood bond the two shared. I liked Kai because he was a very protective and manly persona. I also liked Jagger and his mysterious and dark past. THEY WERE ALL SIMPLY TOO GOOD. Consider my mind scrambled.
5. Plot holes. Way too many of them. I had a dozen questions about the way things worked. About what would happen. And where in the world did some of the stuff appear?
Congratulations to Danielle Page on the publication of the first instalment in the ‘Stealing Snow’ series. I really hope that book two will be better!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

