Review: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

Our Chemical HeartsOur Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Our Chemical Hearts’ is THE newest heart-throb of YA literature. And when I say heart-throb, I mean it will make you laugh, gasp, cry and wish that you’ve read-it-earlier/never-read-it-before simultaneously!
Picking up the book, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I remembered reading a couple of reviews about it earlier, and despite their generally high ratings, I held the belief that there was a negative attribute that each review gave the novel.
I really shouldn’t have worried so much.
This novel was spectacular.
I loved, loved, LOVED, the messed up characters! And they really were messed up! There is probably no other way to describe how deeply flawed and out of whack some of them were. But their imperfection gifted them with a very strong, tangible qualities that would sweep me off my feet and dump me head first into their shocking world and their most inner secrets, thoughts and emotions.
Henry Page was an awesome, awesome, AWESOME lead character. Vibrant, real, slightly crazy, true to who he is – these are just SOME of the qualities he possessed as a character. The fact that his perspective was the only one in the novel and that HE told it in first person, really allowed me to connect with who he was as a person. His actions touched my heart and made me weep alongside him. His thoughts and feelings turned to be my own. Henry really was a character that would connect with any person on the deepest level.
In case you haven’t heard it yet: BE PREPARED TO WEEP YOUR EYES OUT!
I also loved – very much – Krystal Sutherland’s writing style. So poignant and very well crafted. It conveyed the smallest of ideas and the tiniest of nuisances within her pages. It hooked and reeled.
I greatly admired the exploration of love and relationships within the novel. Love is something that is both hard and easy to do. It can heal and it can hurt. It can last a short time and it can last forever. Krystal Sutherland was able to communicate these ideas in such subtlety and empathy for her characters that it was a wonder I ever managed to tear my eyes from the pages of the book. She explored the different sides there is to love – and the science behind it. How if we understand the way it works, we can learn to conquer its effects over us. I quite liked it.
Another important idea that she brought forward: You can’t enter a relationship believing that you can fix the person who is your significant other. All you’ll be doing is leading both yourself and that person towards hurt and breakup. You can’t enter a relationship hoping that a person will change. All you’ll be doing is entering a relationship with an IDEA of that person. All you’ll end up doing is falling in love with an IDEA of that person. And once it all ends, it will hurt beyond your wildest imagination. That was the second idea that I’ve very much loved about ‘Our Chemical Hearts’.
Congratulations to Krystal Sutherland on publishing a heart-throb of a debut novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

