Review: Elegy by Jane Abbott

ElegyElegy by Jane Abbott
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Elegy’ – aka a complete let down in my opinion. There was honestly SOOOO much going for this novel, but it just didn’t seem to be able to give what it so wonderfully promised. It was agony for me. I was really, really, really charmed by the idea of a Romeo and Juliet story set in Australia.
What the novel promised:
1. If you have read the blurb, you’ll understand what I’m talking about.
“In a small Australian town, the most epic love story in history is unfolding…again.”
Just that line alone had me on my knees and ready to weep my heart out. How could I resist? I have not yet come across such a romantic concept being set ‘down under’!
2. The cover held a certain darkness and sorrow to it with an elegant beauty and it just…no words. If I saw this novel on a bookshelf in a bookstore, I’d be running straight towards it. The GRAVITAS of the cover…Oh my goodness. See? It’s made me speechless yet again.
What the novel gave:
1. Excellent, beautiful, spectacular language and prose from Jane Abbott. I felt that this was an experienced and talented author who had given this novel a life beyond compare. I was enchanted from the very first page by the words the author had spun like a web around me.
2. Lots of drama and tension. It was palpable and had me on the tips of my toes throughout the entire book. The author masterfully wove this in a way that you wouldn’t suspect until the last moment.
3. Chemistry between characters was so hot it would blow your roof off. Literally. If you’re to pick up this novel, be prepared to read some serious sexy times in here. The chemistry between them was actually what kept the rating of the novel up. It also led to an Oscar worthy romance between the lead characters that I would applaud.
What the novel didn’t live up on:
1. Some of the characters would just become vastly irritating to me. Their personalities and attitudes were so stupid or ignorant that I would have to close the book at times and take a breather. Their plain idiocy was just too much at times.
2. The plot wasn’t the best. It was very obviously lacking as it would often repeat itself. This was a major let down to me as the idea/concept behind the plot was AMAZING.
3. The ending was wanting. I really didn’t like it and in no part did it satisfy me as a reader. There were times in the novel where I was bored to tears and would just be reading to finish the silly thing. I had literally followed the 300+ page story to reach something that was very distasteful to me. Why?!
Congratulations to Jane Abbott on publishing a YA novel with a spectacular idea! If only I could have like the plot more!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

