Review: A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles, #1) by Amanda Bouchet

A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #1)A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘A Promise of Fire’ has BLOWN my mind. I would have rated it TEN stars out of five if I could. It was so good that it has literally blown my mind right now. I’m in awe. This novel is too good. If I start speaking gibberish later on in the review, let me tell you it’s because the story was THAT good. Mind officially scrambled.
The tension/drama/anticipation which Amanda Bouchet created was just higher than the sky. Think of the highest point on earth or in space and the scale at which the tension was created and developed will exceed that point by…oh, let’s say…INFINITY! There was just so much UMPH added to every word and every event. Not one moment was boring. Each moment had something epic to tell or would lead up to something epic. The number one, and ONLY problem, with this novel was how hard it was for me to tear myself away from reading. It was literally impossible. I was incapable of doing so. My best advice to all readers out there is that:
1. PICK UP THIS BOOK!
2. MAKE SURE YOU PUT EVERYTHING ASIDE BECAUSE ‘A Promise of Fire’ WILL MAKE YOUR REAL LIFE NON-EXISTENT!
The plot. Was. So. Good. Better. Than. Food. And that’s saying something. This is probably an exaggeration but it’s the best one I could find to illustrate how masterfully put together the plot was. But in all honesty, this novel CANNOT be read whilst eating. You will find yourself so entranced by the words on the page you will forget to eat or drink whatever is front of you. Like I did. Multiple times.
The character development was a-FREAKING-mazing! Catalia was such a rich and vibrant character I would not have been surprised if she jumped out of the page and ended up being a real life person. And WOW was Cat sassy! And she had such spark to her! I can not give her enough credit. She was – IS – the most sassiest, strong-headed, steel-hearted woman/character I have ever had the pleasure of knowing or reading about. Cat was a real gem. The BEST character ever to tell this story in first person.
The world-building was a masterpiece. I could have fallen into Amanda Bouchet’s world and not have noticed the transition from reality to fiction. So beautifully done, every aspect of the world was concrete and thoroughly thought through. The history and landscape was crafted to perfection. I cannot wait to return to it in the second instalment!
The tie to Greek mythology was definitely unique and a lot more wonderful than other novels that I have come across. It was much more real and less mythological to me. I quite enjoyed this original twist to the idea of Greek gods in a fantastical setting. It was refreshing and unique.
The romance and chemistry is HOT, HOT, HOT. Cat and Griffin? I ship them together so hard it hurts. Be prepared to fall in love and to blush furiously. 😉
The finale left me reeling and hungry for the sequel! Beyond description. I’ll leave you to find out why!
Congratulations to Amanda Bouchet on the publication of her award-winning fantasy debut!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

