Review: The Memory Book by Lara Avery

The Memory BookThe Memory Book by Lara Avery
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Children’s Books in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Memory Book’ was somewhat disappointing for me. I didn’t hate it, or even strongly dislike it, but I also didn’t love it. It was a sort of in between liking and thinking the book was average. I guess what let me down the most was that the cover was so gorgeous and it was screaming its little heart out, BEGGING me to read it with its shiny, pink post-it cover.
So (since I’ve been into lists lately), here’s a list of all the little things that let me down.
1. THAT FOOLISH COVER! IT FOOLED ME SO BAD! I thought that the book was going to be a lot more sadder than it was. I was ready for something heart-wrenching and tear-inducing and emotionally-destroying. But ‘The Memory Book’ let me down on all those areas. I’m not sure whether I’m sad or happy about that. I’m conflicted. 😦
2. The plot. Seriously! What was up with it? How come the complication was sappy and how come it doesn’t make everything very dramatic and positively depressing! I was ready – emotionally, mentally and physically – to be DESTROYED by this book. (I was in the mood for something depressing but fate did not favour me.)
3. This was something that I cruelly quite liked about ‘The Memory Book’. It was NOTHING like a journal/diary. I was so impressed! Instead, it was exactly what Sammie described it as: a word doc. that contained all her thoughts and important past events so that if she ever forgets what happened previously, she’d be able to read back and remember.
4. I enjoyed how hopeful and determined Sammie was throughout her whole journey. She was a real force of life! Determined and ambitious, clever and courageous. And the style in which the author wrote really carried this across. It wasn’t always upbeat but the atmosphere those words created was always positive and hopeful. There was a sense of strength throughout the whole novel from Sammie. She was such a pleasure to get to know. She touched my heart.
5. The chapter structure was quite interesting. I felt as if the novel had a real contemporary style to it. There were text messages and emails and random unpunctuated paragraphs. It was raw. Real. Tangible. It was a great style to write the novel in.
6. I really didn’t expect the ending! I mean, I WAS expecting it, but it was just so sudden, and the last few pages were just hinting, hinting, hinting. Building the tension until…BOOM! There you have your ending. I just kept denying it. It was great. I really admired this.
7. ‘The Memory Book’ was a great exploration of what it is like to live with a genetic disease. One that so significantly impacts a person’s life and creeps deep within their genes until the time comes for them to strike. Understanding the impact of memory loss and eye-hand-coordination (as well as many other problems that come with Niemann-Pick Type C.)
A solid four star from me.
Congratulations to Lara Avery on publishing on a novel that beautifully captured the precious moments in life that matter!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

