Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1) by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar ChildrenMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’ is seriously overrated. I don’t know what all the fuss was about – have never known actually. There was just so much drama and enthusiasm with its publication and the subsequent instalments in the series! I really don’t see it! I believe the only great thing that will come out this novel is the movie. Because, have you readers SEEN who plays Jacob? ASA BUTTERFIELD, that’s who!
I had such great expectations for this novel. I literally was SO excited to read something that was different and unique compared to all the other novels out there. And ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’ seemed to be just what I needed. Unfortunately, I got swept up with the hype. And I learned my lesson yet again: Don’t get too excited over books others are excited about. You’ll most likely not like them. Or take them with a grain of salt. Just in case.
One of my non-book-nerd friends (who and I kidding, all of them) actually said that this books was Tim Burton’s version of the X-men. And once you think about it, the novel does have some startling similarities. Like Miss Peregrine has a school for all the “peculiar” children out there. (Otherwise known as children who have special/supernatural abilities.) So does Charles Xavier who is the headmaster of his own school. Jacob is a unique character who has lived through some terrible experiences and brings a new perspective into the world of the “peculiar”. Surprise, surprise! So did Logan or the Wolverine in the X-men!
I really should have slapped some sense into myself a bit earlier on. How could I have not seen the similarities myself?! And, worst of all, why did I deny it and profusely defend this book amongst all my friends?!
What was interesting was that this novel wasn’t quite as frightening or horrific as I expected it to be. I believe that the only scary/night-marish aspect of this novel are:
• the very weird photos
• especially the photos that have a Santa Claus in them
Readers, BEWARE the Santa Claus’s in those photos! I was ready to have a night-mare about them as soon as I took one look at them. *shivers*
The writing wasn’t anything special. I felt as if there was just a lot of it. Ransom Riggs did have a certain style to his writing. The language was similar to something you’d find in older novels. More formal…sort of like your grandpa talking.
I really can’t say much about the plot because this is where the novel REALLY let itself down for me. I felt like it was a chore reading ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’! Everything was SOO boring and slow and with nothin that could make me feel even a little bit excited. It was just so full and average and with no excitement or epic DRAMA in it!
As for the characters, well, I felt like I barely knew them! And I spent a whole day READING about them! Jacob is just a posh/rich fifteen-year-old teenager who has the modesty not to run it into his readers faces. His dad is weird. Emma, Jacob’s love interest, was sweethearts with Jacob’s grandpa and then decides to make googly eyes at Jacob. (I know, this sounds weird but there is a time loop involved.)
When I finished the novel, I literally had two thoughts simultaneously pop into my head:
1. This whole entire story felt like it was randomly pieces together from some garbage/scary photos that the author bought or found at a garage sale.
2. I’m going to have to read more of this garbage if I’m to finish the series. And I always finish reading a series.
I really hope the rest of the series is better. I seriously believe the movie is going to be better. And THAT’S saying something!
Congratulations to Ransom Riggs on publishing the first instalment in the series! I can’t wait for the movie!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

