Review: Ruins by Rajith Savandasa

RuinsRuins by Rajith Savanadasa
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Ruins’ was SO hard to get through! I can’t believe that I actually managed to force myself to keep reading and reading until I ACTUALLY finished the book! This was just plain annoying for me to read. And a real trek into the mountains, too.
What I disliked from the first page was the character, Latha. She was just so…argh! Frustrating and subservient and very, very weak! It was like putting up with a pesky mosquito! Latha was constantly just BUZZING around her employers and not even saying a word to any of them. She wouldn’t say anything when she was judged harshly, she obeyed their every single word, she just nodded her head and accepted the freakishly snobbish people she worked for. She didn’t even have ONE thought of rebellion! Of somehow getting OUT of the situation she was stuck in! Latha was just all, “Yes, sir,” and “Yes, ma’am!” Argh!!! And when her brother came to torment her and try to coerce her into becoming HIS personal slave, she just put up with it! Nods and mumbles of agreement. She would act as though her brother was yet another master in the house she worked for! And the work she did was just grating on me. She was a maid-slave. Latha did all the laundry by hand. She cooked by hand, with no help. Cleaned everything. AND she absolutely LOVED the children in the family as though they were her own children! I felt like grabbing her by the shoulders and saying, “PLEASE DO SOMETHING WITH YOUR LIFE! DONT JUST ACCEPT STUFF AS IT IS!”
I strongly disliked the culture. It was so male dominated. I hated it. It made me want to throw the book against the wall, but I felt too bad for the paperback. I know that I should judge other cultures for the traditions and morals that they uphold. The whole reason why I picked up ruins was to discover and explore a different way of life! But this setting was just not it for me.
Most of the other characters were pretty stuck up and stupid, too. I mean, why they couldn’t open their eyes a little to the world around them was beyond me! Each of them was so deeply entrenched in their personal little worlds and each HATED stepping outside those little bubbles. They couldn’t even open their eyes to the lives of their closest family members! It was ridiculous!
I strongly dislike the dialogue and prose. It was definitely effective in carrying across the speech patterns of Singapore, but I hated the sound of it in my head. Too busy and loud. Just not to my taste.
And the plot didn’t make sense to me. What was the problem? What did each of these characters overcome? There was way too many of them! I didn’t get anything from this novel. And when I finished, I felt like shouting, “Why did I just read this!”
Congratulations to Rajith Savandasa on the publication of his debut novel, ‘Ruins’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

