Review: The Boyfriend List (Ruby Oliver, #1) by E. Lockhart

The Boyfriend List (Ruby Oliver #1)The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review.

Title: The Boyfriend List
Author: E. Lockhart
Published: 27 July 2016
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
RRP: $14.99

Review

‘The Boyfriend List’ was something that seemed to fit quite well in E. Lockhart’s list of published books. It didn’t seem to deviate much from the other angst-y teenage novels she writes. And although I haven’t read her highly popular ‘We Were Liars’ (and I know, I know, I should), ‘The Boyfriend List’ definitely got my attention.
And since this novel contained and was completely written as a list, here’s one from me:
(Because they are quite lovely in the end.)
1. I loved the blurb and I love the new cover. I felt like the funny blurbs were what pulled me in ultimately and the word “shrink” on the front cover. To be honest, the very first cover really creeped me out. What’s with the frog? Who puts a frog on the front cover? And why is it…smiling? Oh, well… I guess it did its purpose. Pulled my attention right in.
2. Ruby Oliver seemed to lead and interesting and very troublesome life. I wanted to see whether she was clever enough to survive it. Mwahahahaha! (And I wanted to have a little laugh at her expense. :P)
3. I loved the little footnotes every few pages. I don’t know. I just love footnotes. They’re like little insights into people/characters. It was awfully good to see them in ‘The Boyfriend List’.
4. At first I felt like the novel was another stereotypical rich girl meets stereotypical bad boy and gets into heaps and heaps of trouble. But it really wasn’t. A lot of the novel was Ruby finding herself, learning to come to terms with her feelings and navigating life.
5. The story was written with each chapter being a number on her list and titled with the name of a boy. I wasn’t quite sure what to think of that or about Ruby at first, but I realised that these boys meant something to her. They were symbolic of important events in her life.
6. It was also written as a whole heap of flashbacks and flash forwards to the present. It was written in first person, and I felt like the novel was solely Ruby’s monologue on her life and her slow understanding of what she did wrong.
7. The novel got me reading and I picking it up a lot more than expected. ‘The Boyfriend List’ wasn’t anything original or overly unique, but it just kept drawing me back, and back, and back. I really don’t know what did it.
8. Maybe it was all those boys…
9. Or the funny stories Ruby had to go with them…
10. But I enjoyed the simple way it was written.
11. An incredibly easy read. And especially light on the brain when you’re trying to recover from too many exams and study.
12. A quick read.
13. I can’t wait to see what else Ruby Oliver gets up to.
14. And WHAT HAPPENS TO ALL THOSE BOYS!!
Congratulations to E. Lockhart on publishing a great start to the ‘Ruby Oliver’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

