Review: Black by Fleur Ferris

BlackBlack by Fleur Ferris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Black’ ended up being A LOT better than I expected. I initially thought that this was going to be scary/mind-numbing/over-the-top/depressing/mind-boggling or anything else that can be associate with stereotypical horror novels. But this novel was everything that I thought it wouldn’t be. And I didn’t regret picking it up for one second!
What I enjoyed the most (and probably always will) was the ROMANCE! *swoons* Fleur Ferris masterfully weaved a love story into a high-action, and fast-paced plot. It was tense and cute and my emotions were all over the place TRYING to figure out what would happen next! And there was a love-triangle! In this case, it really pushed my opinion of the plot up. I really wouldn’t describe this novel as solely horror. ‘Black’ was more light-horror-and-more-romance. In other words: my favourite type of scary novels.
The writing was lovely. It wasn’t anything that I found unique, or different in anyway. To be frank, the style was a lot like all the other young-adult novels out there, but I found it flowing and easy to read.
This leads me to: ‘Black’ is the perfect novel to read when you want something a little frightening but nothing too hard on the mind. Something that gets you reading something new and exciting. I loved it because I zoomed through it without a break and I loved it because it was perfect with my currently, very busy, life.
I thought the characters were solidly developed. Ebony “Black” Marshal was a somewhat archetypical character, but she was also a breath of fresh air. She was strong, yet vulnerable; courageous, but also a bit of a coward; clever, but also silly; edgy, but a real person.
The plot was – I must say – very well laid out. After finishing the novel, I felt like it was very SOLID. There wasn’t a piece that I felt was left out or as if there was anything missing from the story. A great development of tension and anticipation by the author! I was always looking forward to picking the book back up, and would do so whenever I had a spare moment. I was always kept curious and hoping, always hoping! It evoked a great emotional response from me!
It was an awesome finale for ‘Black’! I felt that it was so true to the novel and also a great crowd pleaser!
Congratulations to Fleur Ferris on publishing her second YA novel! I’m definitely going to check out ‘Risk’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

