Review: The BFG by Roald Dahl

The BFGThe BFG by Roald Dahl
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I really should have read ‘The BFG’ earlier! I can’t believe this story flew right by me when I was younger! It’s was so so so so so GOOD! I’m rereading this if I get the chance!
What I found really interesting was my instant and happy return to Roald Dahl’s writing. It was so seamless and easy that I found myself a little surprised! Roald Dahl definitely has a unique style to his stories that once again captured my heart and mind. It was one I didn’t realise that I missed very much and Dahl’s distinct writing style has made reading and reviewing a children’s novel an absolute pleasure!
I am in absolute LURVE with these new covers that Penguin Random House has recently released and I even have the pleasure of having two of these newly covered novels on my shelf. I love how bright, eye- drawing and childish they are! They have captured the very essence of Roald Dahl’s stories and brought them back to life for the enjoyment of yet another generation!
What continues to appeal to me about Roald Dahl is his funny and imaginative takes of common thoughts, beliefs, actions, stories, and anything else you can possible think of! He is able to write in an easy language accessible to children yet one that follows grammar to a spot. (Unless there is a legitimate reason for diverting from that; such as the BFG’s speech pattern.) Roald Dahl continues to bring a smile to my face and laugh at the horrifying absurdity of some of the scrapes his characters get into. The evil in his stories seems to be an evil that most children are afraid of at some point and one that calls deep down to the child in all of us.
I can’t wait to see ‘The BFG’ brought to life in cinemas! And Steven Spielberg as director is bound to make the film a great adaptation and one that hopefully sticks close to the actual plot of the novel. Fingers crossed!
Congratulations to Roald Dahl, our beloved author, on ‘The BFG’s film adaptation!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

