Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating GameThe Hating Game by Sally Thorne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Hating Game’!!! What can I say about it other than that it was my SOUL book! You know those book(s) that you come across every once in a while that you just understand? Ones that resonate deep within you and make you fall in love within the first few pages? Actually, even BEFORE you open the book? You feel this desperate longing and metaphysical pull to open, it open it and READ it!
That was EXACTLY what it was like for me! I just HAD to read it before I got around to anything else because:
1. The book was a spectacular colour.
2. My favourite actually.
3. It had a funny illustration on the front.
4. The book was SO aptly named!
5. It had a little definition of Nemisis on the back.
6. The blurb was fantastic.
7. I knew I was gonna love it.
8. It was a romantic-comedy and I needed a little lift-me-up.
My most favourite aspect of the novel was most definitely the characters! I loved how real they felt to me and how each and every one of them made me feel for them and view them as REAL people! There was this depth and vitality to them that was unbelievable!
Lucy Hutton is my type of character. I felt like I could understand her and neatly zip myself into her costume as I read. It was easy for me to get in touch with her and easy for me to experience the world as she does. Lucy was a completely loveable character full of her own eccentricities and stubborn virtues which made her all the more memorable.
Joshua Templeman has stolen first place in my long list of book boyfriends. Seriously! He’s sooooo gorgeous! *swoons* There was nothing more fun and exciting but getting to know him. He is your archetypical brooding hottie but he is also so much MORE than that! He would act in ways that would surprise me and then make me grin like a Cheshire Cat followed by a slap on the forehead because DUH I should have known.
‘The Hating Game’ is one I definitely have to pick up again! Not only because it’s such an outstanding debut, but because rereading would be such an absolute PLEASURE. It’s a novel that you will fall in love with again and again and again.
There are some seriously wonderful sexy times in here! And they weren’t introduced too early or too suddenly. No! Instead they seemed to have been stretched out until the very last moment when I would be ready to fall off my chair with excitement about what would happen and would Lucy and Joshua finally do it!!
Readers…do your job and read the novel.
And now because reviewing this novel is such a pleasure but I REALLY want to re-read ‘The Hating Game’ I must finish this.
Congratulations to Sally Thorne on publishing a SPECTACULAR romantic-comedy that will capture the heart of everyone who reads it! I can’t wait for more!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

