Review: Lucky Strikes by Louis Bayard

Lucky StrikesLucky Strikes by Louis Bayard
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Pan Macmillan Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Lucky Strikes’ is a MAJOR tear-jerker, heart-wrencher and laugh-maker! Once you open this book and commit yourself to reading…be prepare for crying, laughing and an aching heart.
I must admit I was a bit reluctant to pick up ‘Lucky Strikes’. I wasn’t sure what to expect of it and I believe that is what scared me the most and made me wary. The blurb didn’t give away too much and since I’ve lately been on a FANTASTIC book reading streak where every novel I’ve finished I’ve loved, I really didn’t want this novel to spoil that streak.
To make a long story short: It didn’t….
It actually made it BETTER…
My advice to any person who wants to read this book or is about to is stick to it. ‘Lucky Strikes’ requires a small level of commitment to its first third of the book, I’d say. Once you get past that first introductory part, the story really picks up and you realise that it has grown on you so quietly and steadily that you don’t realise just how much you are enjoying it and how much you DON’T want to put it down.
‘Lucky Strikes’ snuck up on me and stole my heart.
My first noting about the book was the way it was written: First person narrative from big sister’s Amelia’s point of view. Now, since the novel was set in Depression Era Virginia, USA, the book had a southern-twang to accent it. Amelia spoke and told the story in her Western accent and it definitely had some charm to it. The novel reminded me a lot of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ due to the Western accent. I literally read the entire novel with the silly accent!
The good thing about it is it set the place and time SO incredibly well! And as you read from the beginning to finish you noticed all these little changes. At first the atmosphere was dark, hopeless and grieving. Hard. But then the hobo rolled up and things started to change. Opportunities arose; hope sprung. I loved it.
The characters were simply amazing. I cannot describe how much I loved each and every one of them! (Except, of course, the bad ones.) Amelia with her wittiness, strength and maturity; Earle with his boyish genius, sensitivity and attitude; Janey, the sweet baby sister with her silliness, bouts of wisdom and caring personality. They became my family throughout the course of the book and I couldn’t make myself leave them at the end. Let’s say the end was a love-hate sort of one.
Talking about family, ‘Lucky Strikes’ explored it in depth. It explored the different types of family out there and how sometimes families fall apart but you can learn to make others family, too. Family doesn’t always have to be your siblings and parents, it could also be others who you let into your life and learn to love.
To my absolute surprise the entire novel was actually one whole, big… You know? I won’t tell you! Go pick it up. You’ll be in for a BIG surprise. One that I loved so much but one that left me with so many questions and a tumbling mind.
Congratulations to Louis Bayard on publishing a powerful, historical novel that has captured my heart!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

