Review: Burning by Danielle Rollins

BurningBurning by Danielle Rollins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Bloomsbury Publishing Australia in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Burning’… Hmm… How to describe it? At first it seemed just like any other novel about a girl locked away in juvenile prison where things were about to get real nasty, real quick, probably scare the BEJEEBIES out of me, and leave me forever grumpy, depressed and add one more reason to my long list of why I don’t read crimes/thrillers. Yep! It was definitely not a happy start for me with this novel.
But let me tell you why it changed my mind and how I learned to love it.
The beginning was certainly unappealing. I kept picking it up, putting it down, and then leaving it to go do something else. Why? Because I was so certain I knew what to expect from the story and because it made me want to run away from it as far as possible. I was NOT in the mood for a random, demented girl who – to be very harsh/frank/a little cruel/judgemental – was stupid and idiotic enough to land herself in prison because she couldn’t control herself for whatever reasons and excuses she made which I haven’t discovered yet.
And I certainly didn’t want to hate this novel at first, but STRONGLY dislike it, I did.
After labouring through the first initial pages, the novel started to change in my eyes. I didn’t feel so far away from the main character, Angela, and I started to understand the life she led before landing herself in juvie. She transformed from yet another teenage statistic to a real, breathing person. She had a bad family: her dad left her, her mother hated her, but she had a younger brother whom she loved very much, and I could FINALLY, FINALLY connect myself to her.
There’s definitely a bit of sci-fi in this! Fire-wielding little children who grew up and were dubbed pyretics? Guys, you’re in for a treat.
I felt the conclusion was justified, but I certainly wasn’t happy with it! I wanted to know what would happen next and most importantly why the author decided to close the novel in such an abrupt way! I wasn’t happy with all the deaths and sorrow that happened. There was too much creepiness and fear for me. I was angry and raging but also grieving and sad.
So, okay… Once I calmed down a little, I realised how great this novel was…and admitted to myself that I liked it a LOT!
And that creepy little girl Jessica who made such a fearful, turmoil-filled entrance in the start? Well…you’ll have to read the novel to find out.
*laughs evilly*
Congratulations to Danielle Rollins on publishing a fantastic YA debut?!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

