Review: King Slayer (The Witch Hunter, #2) by Virginia Boecker

The King Slayer (The Witch Hunter, #2)The King Slayer by Virginia Boecker
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Children’s Books in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘King Slayer’ was kinda…meh…to me. I apologise if this infuriates some of you readers but I felt like it could have been something a lot more. There were just too many words in this novel (at 400 pages) and not enough UMPH, if you know what I mean. It was a read I found easy to fly through but after finishing it I felt like I couldn’t take anything away from it. Like I could finish reading it and forget completely about it, without ever wanting to pick it up again or to even remember the story.
I know. I’m as sad as you. 😦
As in the first book, I felt the writing could have been better. I couldn’t for the sake of saving myself from a bad reading experience find anything significant or different or amazing about Virginia Boecker’s. It felt a lot like the author just writing down the story in colloquial language without feeling the need to reword or to make it more sophisticated. It just…felt bland and boring to me. BUT that’s not to say that the writing was bad! It was simply lacking. The grammar was good and the prose was well done.
To further build on that, I didn’t really understand the world that the author created. I felt like she could have expanded on it and added depth, character and culture to it. Seriously, peeps. World-building is EVERYTHING! (At least to me.) The authors that take this into account usually end up with best-sellers. (At least all the ones that I have come across.) And some of the scenes didn’t have a strong impact on me. They sort of just brushed by without invoking any sort of feeling within me. I really could have used some more imagery here! Like vivid, apt descriptions. MORE sensory imagery would have also been nice.
The plot was okay but I didn’t really understand the need for sequel. After finishing ‘Witch Hunter’ I felt like that could have been it. There wasn’t anything more that I wanted from this world. Every action and event that happened wasn’t anything that I felt. It wasn’t awesome or scary or anything in particular. Just kind of plain. Book two, ‘King Slayer’ seemed to have dragged all those events that the author left purposefully unfinished out and out and out to make a new book. To be honest, I felt like if the author smoothed the plot together and jam packed all those high-action/emotion bits together, then it would have made for a good read.
Malcolm, the interrupted king, becomes a character we see and meet for the first time. The author, I believe, attempted to create a love triangle between Elizabeth, John and Malcolm but in the end didn’t bother exploiting it. For some VERY unknown reason. I actually wouldn’t have minded this love-triangle! I usually have a love-hate relationship with them but here it would have at least given me something to be in turmoil over. By the way, her exploiting this royal/commoner relationship would have been SOOOO fun to see! I kind of felt like shouting: “John. MOVE ASIDE!!”
A predictable ending for me which I though was kind if weak. Didn’t really make me excited to read more of the author’s works, however I felt that the novellas were heaps of fun to read.
Congratulations to Virginia Boecker on publishing the sequel and finale in ‘The Witch Hunter’ duology!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

