Review: Witch Hunter (The Witch Hunter, #1) by Virginia Boecker

Witch Hunter (The Witch Hunter, #1)Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Children’s Books in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Witch Hunter’ was definitely a riveting read that had me flipping the pages as fast as I could and constantly chanting….”Just one more chapter!” I enjoyed the ideas and the plot which the author introduced and I must commend her on a well written debut novel!
The whole idea of witch hunters and witch killings was actually quite interesting! As with most YA novels on highlight, I was a bit wary of picking it up mainly because:
1. It’s a new book, and as always, each book is a risk where you’re either in danger of hating, loving or being completely indifferent to it.
2. I wasn’t sure whether I would like it despite the fact that I have heard of it multiple times. My main reason was me COMPLETELY hating the ‘Divergent’ series!
But at the end of the novel, I kept wanting to read and I couldn’t wait to pick up book two, ‘The King Slayer’!! There was something inside the novel – that I could definitely feel but can’t actually describe – that kept compelling me to read, read, read!
However, the book didn’t use that powerful impact on me that most novels of a FIVE star rating do have on me. I can’t exactly pinpoint it, but I felt like the delivery of the story was a bit weak to me. I just…didn’t think it had that WOW factor. (I know, I know: I now sound like those sulking judges on The Voice of the X Factor!)
After a little thinking, I decided it was definitely the writing, first and foremost. I just couldn’t sense the author’s unique tang…or flavour…or STYLE. She didn’t leave her mark in the writing for me. It was just another story told be simple words. I, on the other hand, wanted it to be a story told by a STORYTELLER. A NARRATOR. An AUTHOR! I couldn’t sense anything special about the writing that would make me pick up another of the author’s novels and say: “Oh! This is definitely Virginia Boecker!” I felt like it was written by a ghost-writer with no legitimate hold or warrant of the series.
Secondly, I believe it was the idea which created this story that slightly let the novel down. It was definitely special but nothing that I could say was UNIQUE. That’s NOT to say that I didn’t ENJOY it, but it could have been a lot better. I guess book two will expand on this a lot more?
There were great characters and great character development. I especially liked Elizabeth, but at times I felt like she was a bit stereotypical in her image. Aka, she’s blonde, slim, fit and attractive to other guys. This was a bit boring. Her character was well established and I had a good understanding of who she is but I felt like I couldn’t connect with her. She was just too distant for me and I can’t remember ever feeling so moved that I became teary eyed. Though there was certainly one moment that had me laughing!
I liked the pace that was set and how it wasn’t so fast that I felt the novel was rushed or so slow that I grew bored. Basically, it was perfect.
Congratulations to Virginia Boecker in publishing an excellent debut and the first in the series, ‘The Witch Hunter’! Eager for book two!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

