Review: Bloodmoon (Bloodmark Saga, #3) by Aurora Whittet

Bloodmoon (Bloodmark Saga, #3)Bloodmoon by Aurora Whittet
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Wise Ink Creative Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Bloodmoon’ just didn’t appeal to me as much as I hoped it would. I love werewolf tales and shapeshifter stories, but the ‘Bloodmark Saga’ just didn’t do it for me. I felt like it wasn’t as potent as it should have been. It didn’t touch my soul. It didn’t make me laugh or cry – or better yet, angry and thinking of throwing the book against the wall. It didn’t make me hate-love it or love-hate it. It just made me slightly indifferent. And that is what I disliked the most.
I had such high hopes for this series! Reading book one made me feel like this series could go somewhere. That it would enchant me with its unfiltered writing and emotions. I could see myself falling in love with this series. Book two, ‘Bloodrealms’ sorely disappointed me because it dropped in its overall quality. It lost that something that I could see growing and me loving. This was why ‘Bloodmoon’ was so important. It would either make or break my opinion of the series. And sadly it broke it.
The writing just wasn’t what it was in the first novel. It didn’t carry across all that emotion effectively and it failed to establish a bond between me and the main characters. Ashling was a person I seemed to view from behind a glass window. Detached and insensitive.
The writing also failed to enchant me. It failed to paint such a vivid world that it would leave me breathless. I felt as if the author wrote the bare necessities. That she didn’t include as much as she could have. There were so many moments that would have been more awesome if the author chose to polish them more.
The pace was also unbearably slow. It seemed to just drag for me. The action didn’t touch me and all those battles just whipped through my mind and left me bored.
The plot could’ve also been more complex. There was just the one main plot and the sub-plot consisted of Ashling’s romance with Grey, but that was already over and done with. The only problem those two faces was the acceptance of their relationship by those above them. And that problem just dragged for far too long and a lot more than it was worth. There wasn’t anything that made me gasp or startle. Most of the events that happened were so predictable they almost made me fall asleep.
There was barely any character evolvement. The characters just seemed to be stuck in their past and already established selves. I couldn’t find anything that fascinated me about them. They didn’t grow to me or change very much. They were characters I could easily forget. I really hoped that the author could’ve made them more realistic, complex or tangible but they just weren’t.
The grammar was good, but I would definitely work on the prose a little more. I couldn’t spot any typos or spelling mistakes.
The formatting and layout for this novel was great! Very professional!
I loved the artwork done for this novel, especially the Celtic knots and the wolves! They were so out of the ordinary and beautifully rendered.
Congratulations to Aurora Whittet on publishing the third and final instalment in the ‘Bloodmark Saga’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

