Review: Bloodrealms (Bloodmark Saga, #2) by Aurora Whittet

Bloodrealms (Bloodmark Saga, #2)Bloodrealms by Aurora Whittet
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Wise Ink Creative Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Bloodrealms’ suffered from MAJOR second book syndrome! Seriously! One of EPIC, GARGANTUOUS proportions! I disliked how everything progressed from the start to the finish and by the end of the book I was at my wits end. I do not EVER DNF a book – but this one almost made me think about it!
What annoyed me a little about the novel was how many times Ashling said that women were not equal to men yet showed no proof of that, except for a few brawls to fight for a lady’s hand, for example, now and again. She also integrated the whole “a lady should not be caught in a compromising position with a man lest she be disgraced”. And Ashling commented in this quite a few times and was often in the presence of men alone without being chaperoned yet she suffered no consequences. The whole situations was quite irksome
The second thing that annoyed me was the quality of the writing. It progressed from this matured, practised style to one worthy of ANY randomly picked out self-published or independently published novel! There was nothing that I could praise about it except that it made sense and the grammar was good. Argh! I was so frustrated! I expected so much more from the author but all I got was lots and LOTS of showing and not telling. Let me clarify myself: the writing told too much and stated too much like the fact that Ashling loved Grey but there was no showing that she actually did. The author kept telling about the subtle moods and emotions but she didn’t provide anything that supported all this. That enhanced it or made it better!
I believe this is also what ruined my ability to form a bond and connection to the book. You can’t love or hate a book if you don’t have the feels for it! If you can’t experience the world as the characters experience it, you are literally reading word after word after word. Sort of like the back of a cereal box. Dry.
There was much that happened which I would have found tangible and full of emotion. So many great events that lost their power on me. The words just crudely told the facts but didn’t hope to establish a link to the reader.
Of course this impacted the chemistry which I felt between Ashling and Grey. They do something REALLY IMPORTANT HERE! But I hated the whole thing because it was…just DRY.
The plot was well laid out and created a great story arc, though it didn’t have enough secrecy or anticipation for me. There was lots of drama but no tension. Everything was a too ordinary and easily predicted.
The world-building suffered in this ‘Bloodrealms’. I hoped that the author would have expanded on the lands she created. Created a better established world and introduced some new things that would have made it all exciting and wonderful. She obviously know the world she has created thus far, but she hasn’t chosen to develop it and get to know it better, and on a deeper level. This really shows.
There was an attempt on a cliff-hanger but I can’t say that I was caught or look forward to the next instalment. My only hopes are that the next instalment really DOES become better!
Congratulations to Aurora Whittet on publishing the second novel in the ‘Bloodmark Saga’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

