Review: Bloodmark (Bloodmark Saga, #1) by Aurora Whittet

Bloodmark (Bloodmark Saga, #1)Bloodmark by Aurora Whittet
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Wise Ink Creative Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Bloodmark’is the first novel in the ‘Bloodmark Saga’ and a very solid debut from Aurora Whittet! It captured the very essence of what I love best about werewolf/fantasy/shape-shifter novels! The steamy, sexy, hot romance that permeates every single page!
Whilst it wasn’t a COMPLETELY original idea, it definitely had quite a FEW original ideas thrown in there. I thought if those original ideas were more emphasises or evolved – maybe even more ideas thought up to support them – then they really made for an even BETTER story.
Like most independently published or self-published novels, this one lacked just a little something. I guess a good metaphor for it would be a diamond in the rough, not yet completely ready to see the light, but pretty good in its own self and full of potential. This draft was as polished as it could possibly be but still needs some professional critique.
‘Bloodmark’ was written very well and effectively. It conveyed every bit of that raw emotion pulsing through the plot. It didn’t repeat itself and was executed in a very mature and practised style. However, it could have been written a bit more differently. ‘Bloodmark’ was told like most other novels: in chronological order. I believe if the author disrupted the plot a little with flashbacks and flashforwards it would have created a better effect and would have enhanced both quality and final effect.
It is written solely from Ashling’s POV in first person. I guess this was a good choice but if it was written in a different narrative, such as second person – that would have been awesome!
The world was well built and I enjoyed the historical background which Aurora Whittet created to support the existence of her fantastical creatures. It brought that extra tang and novelty to my reading experience. It wasn’t the most original, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. If you’re looking for a soul-satisfying read: Then there is NOTHING better than this!
I definitely stayed up late reading and finished this book sometime in the middle of the night! There was something there that kept me reading and reading just one more chapter!
Grammar was good and the prose well done! I spotted a few typos but they were easy to ignore and one time quite hilarious!
Congratulations to Aurora Whittet on publishing a solid debut worthy of the most pickiest werewolf lovers!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

