Review: The War of the Four Isles (Ship Kings, #3) by Andrew McGahan

The War of the Four Isles  (Ship Kings, #3)The War of the Four Isles by Andrew McGahan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review.

Title: The War of the Four Isles
Author: Andrew McGahan
Published: 1 August 2016
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
RRP: $16.99

Review

‘The War of the Four Isles’ really is a MOMENTOUS volume in not only in the ‘Ship Kings’ series, but also the entire young-adult and children’s genre! There is something mighty powerful that continues to make itself known in the series, and this novel showed no signs of lacking it. If you’re into a heroic, romantic and tragic adventure full of ships, battles, losses and victories, then this one is for you!
The writing continues to fascinate me. This novel and the entire series is written in such a way, that every time that I pick it up, I have to adjust to the level of CORRECTNESS and GRAMMAR that it uses. It’s like reading a classic: in order to understand it, you have to first adjust to the language being used, which is so much more sophisticated and complex compared to our English today, and you end up fumbling through the first few chapters. But then, as you get used to the writing style, you read easier and faster. This is what every novel is like! This is a book you can DEFINITELY learn some writing skills from!
What the writing reminded me, also, of was Shakespearean plays! It’s not straight away evident, but the speech and dialogue these characters use is absolutely outstanding and very similar to Shakespearean dialogue with their constant embellishments, and metaphors, and similes.
This is definitely a heavy read! Not only because of the length of the novel approaches five-HUNDRED pages, but because in every sentence there is always something important, and it felt to me that if I missed one of those lines, then I would lose something vital and therefore the story. So be ready to pay close attention to each line and be prepared to remember a LOT!
Andrew McGahan continues to build on this wonderfully enchanting and complicated world of the Ship Kings. This is definitely the number one reason I return again and again to the series: because there is always something new and wonderful to discover since the author has left room not only for US to explore, but for his characters, too. Those who have read the previous novels are aware of the Barrier Doldrums. The belt of sea which prohibits passage from the northern hemisphere to the southern with its jelly-like waters and complete lack of winds. And therefore leaves the Southern Hemisphere completely unknown and undiscovered! This is what the fourth volume is going to explore, and I must say that I am BEYOND and ABOVE ready to learn of it!
The pace remained steady and somewhat slow, like with the entire series. But this was good as it allowed me to really absorb the story.
Dow’s adventures encompass a bigger world now, but I still felt like the author was building up to Dow’s great moment – which I’m still not WHAT it is!
Congratulations to Andrew McGahan on publishing his THIRD volume in the ‘Ship Kings’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

