Review: The Road to Winter by Mark Smith

The Road to WinterThe Road to Winter by Mark Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Text Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Road to Winter’ definitely deserves the full four stars I’m giving it. It was a solid debut by Mark Smith and the only reason I didn’t give it a five star was because I felt that it didn’t have that something extra which would have made it better.
If you’re into adventure, an apocalyptic setting and hope, well then definitely give this novel a go. There was something about the storytelling that grew on you the further and further you went in. Instead of gripping you straight away, it slowly, gently dug its claws into your heart and your mind, never letting go.
I enjoyed the world this author created and this exploration of the effects of global warming on humanity. The catalyst for this world was the warming climate which sprung a deadly virus wiping out more women than men, with women becoming the most prized possession to the crumbling dystopian society.
The idea wasn’t all too original and felt as if it was a reused combo that was worn thin. The author could have introduced something special or different which would have made the novel stand out amongst its peers. This was partially the reason for my four star.
However what made the novel so good was how well it was written and its ability to convey moment and emotions with pristine clarity. Every moment I spent with this novel was like being submerged in a new world without choice or sliding into the shoes of the characters.
Finn was quite the character! Solidly created and flawlessly designed to slowly worm his way into your heart. I guess what I didn’t like about him was his unoriginality. Even though he was so well written, and seemed spectacularly like a real person, he too was an archetype too obvious and plain.
I enjoyed the pace with which the plot was set. It was definitely steadily paced and there was this consistency in it that I enjoyed but which others might bore with. I can’t say that there was much to be surprised with because there wasn’t. There weren’t any significant plot twists, revelations or surprises that I noticed. The ending was predictable but I enjoyed it nevertheless.
The way the novel ended left room for a sequel and some of my questions were definitely left unanswered. ‘The Road to Winter’ would be a series I’d gladly return to. This novel was a great foundation for one!
I’d definitely recommend this to any YA fan who’s into a quick read or would like some heroics and adventure without the deep, dark and depressing stuff most common to the dystopian or apocalyptic genres.
Congratulations to Mark Smith on a solid debut! Worthy of a sequel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

