Review: My Last Continent by Midge Raymond

My Last ContinentMy Last Continent by Midge Raymond
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Text Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘My Last Continent’ is BEYOND description! Do you know those novels? The ones that you see and they instantly intrigue you with their something mysterious, secretive and very compelling? And you know beforehand that you’re going to have a love-hate relationship with this novel, but you deny it, deny it, deny it. And you know there is going to be a sad ending…but you convince yourself otherwise.
That was what ‘My Last Continent’ was like for me. I knew all this, but I refused to admit it. Some of you may consider this a spoiler, but I think of it more as a warning, a word of caution. This book is going to emotional destroy you, wreck you, DEMOLISH you, unless you are prepared. And somewhat fortified. I never was. And this is probably why I hate it so much…you know, in a loving way.
What drew me first was definitely the setting. I haven’t come across too many novels set in the frozen land of Antarctica. It sounded and seemed like such a brutally beautiful environment to me…something beyond my comprehension. And the atmosphere this novel exuded was beyond compare! The writing carried across every bit of emotion; every pang of loneliness; every pull of that blissful obsessiveness. It made you feel as the characters would, and I made you believe and understand, no matter how hard you resisted.
My beginning experience with the novel was one of enchantment, definite confusion, some disgust and a sprinkle of prejudice and judgement. I felt all these things about Deb, whose perspective this tale was told from. Deb’s scientific career battles with my own understanding and expectations of being woman, yet I felt bonded to her because I understood this battle she was fighting, regretting. In one part of the novel, one of the minor characters told Deb, “It’s either science or a family. A woman can’t have both”. This continues to plague me today.
What I found fascinating was that ‘My Last Continent’ was told in frequent flashbacks all given a time respective to a major event, which I will not give away. It used these moments to brim up some important issues and themes, yet did not dominant the novel with them. There was a very good mixture and balance of everything a reader could ask for: love, emotion, thought-provocation, meaning and romance.
Boy, the ROMANCE. I believe this is the part of the novel that I had most grievance with. Deb and Keller were both perfect and not for each other. There were so many issues between the two of them, let alone with themselves, but I always kept hoping, hoping, hoping. And when the book ended, I kept asking myself, “What if?”.
Congratulations to Midge Raymond on publishing the stupendously original and heart-wrecking novel, ‘My Last Continent’! Readers, don’t pick it up, and you’ll be doing yourself the WORST favour imaginable!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

