Review: The Inquisition (Summoner, #2) by Taran Matharu

The Inquisition (Summoner, #2)The Inquisition by Taran Matharu
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Children’s Books in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I was pretty pumped about ‘The Inquisition’, the second instalment in the ‘Summoner’ series. After having heaps of fun reading the first novel and being completely ASTOUNDED by the quality and richness of the writing, I really hoped that this novel would take what I so much enjoyed to a higher level! And it really did!
‘The Inquisition’ started off quite slow and very predictably for me. I didn’t really enjoy this bit too much and thought it could have been done a little better. For example, some of the scenes were very, extremely overused. One was the court trial of Fletcher. Gosh! It was like Atticus Finch’s trial scene all over again in ‘The Mockingbird’ but a whole lot dumber!
The novel picked up pace soon after that and this is where the plot piqued my interest. There was so much new information and secrets to deal with! It was a whole bus load that really amazed me. Action, drama, tension and anticipation ran amok and brought all this excitement that I couldn’t have been able to put the book down for anything!
‘The Inquisition’ was written in third person narrative and followed Fletcher’s perspective. I thought this was a good choice as it really opened up the storytelling and allowed it to bring all this fresh and new information to the reader. For novels such as these, it really is the best choice. I enjoyed Fletcher’s perspective but I thought the novel could have been a lot more fun it was told from other’s perspectives as well. I felt a little limited, but in the end, didn’t grieve it too much.
The characters were spectacular! I loved their evolvement over time and how enriching they were to the plot as a whole. They brought their own unique qualities and eye-opening experiences which just amazed me.
I thought that best of the novel took place during its middle and ending. There was so much revealed there that it really made reading this series worthwhile! A series to rival Harry Potter’s!
The demonology which was developed and created was downright spectacular! I admired the extent and detail to which it was explored and how creative and imaginative some of the demons were! I would’ve loved to see them come to life in a movie! Fingers crossed for that!
I felt like some of the speech patterns could’ve been worked on a little more. The author kept making the characters say “be that as it may” as if it was the only old English phrase that he could think of. It definitely irritated me at times and didn’t hold much purpose at others. This is definitely something the author could work on more.
There was the beginnings of a romance here in ‘The Inquisition’ between Fletcher and another female character who I will not give away because YOU HAVE TO PICK UP THE SERIES. It was a really cute one but the romantic aspect wasn’t explored too much. It found this definitely disappointing because I felt that this was part of what both books were working towards. More crossed fingers for the development of that in book three!
Oh, and did I mention the cliff-hanger? Still. Breathless!! Gosh, you will not expect it! Though I definitely should have!
Congratulations to Taran Matharu on publishing a wonderful sequel in the ‘Summoner Trilogy’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

