Review: Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

Jasper JonesJasper Jones by Craig Silvey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

‘Jasper Jones’ was an OVERWHELMINGLY good book! It is one of those rare treasures you come across which instil both love and fear within you. It is claimed to be the Australian ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ and it really, REALLY is!
I must admit that the majority of the novel is incredibly deep and warrants lots and lots of tears shed. It also made me fear humanity and realise how sheltered and good my own life is. There were many smaller recounts told of humanity’s evilness and brutality which really shook me to my soul. Be prepared to freak out majorly.
On the other hand, there were also enough good moments to make the book a bit easier to read. But by the end, I wasn’t sure whether I hate-loved it or love-hated it!
Congratulations to Craig Silvey on publishing an astonishingly unsettling yet fantastic novel!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

