Review: Lullaby for a Lost World by Aliette de Bodard

Lullaby for a Lost WorldLullaby for a Lost World by Aliette de Bodard
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

‘Lullaby for a Lost World’ was a really intriguing short piece. I loved the little blurb which Tor.com provided. I guess I was in for a little morbid and deathly something, because these genres usually never catch my eye. Plus it was YA! I really loved the style and technique of writing. So, so, so, so GOOD! It was full of emotive and scenic imagery that made reading it so worth it! And the whole thing was dramatic and rich in mystery, TO DIE FOR! I enjoyed how everything was cleverly revealed. And the structure it held. There was that consistent introduction, complication and resolution which made the short story actually UNDERSTANDABLE. I believe this is why I don’t normally pick up shorts. Plus, it was a bit gory, but only slightly. So I guess it satisfied my blood-lust! The characters were also pretty awesome. I was really intrigued by this Master persona. Who was he? I would have loved to know more about him in an actual, full-length novel!
Congratulations to Aliette de Bodard on publishing a lovely short piece!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

