Review: Second Twin (Legend of Rhyme, #4) by Jaime Lee Mann

Second Twin (Legend of Rhyme, #4)Second Twin by Jaime Lee Mann
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Blue Moon Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Second Twin’ is the fourth instalment in the ‘Legend of Rhyme’ series and one that I really looked forward to. I originally fell in love with this series because of the kindness and tranquility it emitted. It felt like one of those bedtime fairytales which stay with you for a long time. ‘Second Twin’ was either going it exceed all my expectations, or let me down… And I really hoped for the initial.
I enjoyed the length of the novella, but I thought it could have been a bit more concise and shorter. It was certainly longer than the previous novellas, so ‘Second Twin’ no longer felt like a bedtime fairytale but a full-length novella.
The writing contained that beautiful, transformative and good essence which it held in the entire series. Jodie Lee Mann’s writing continues to enchant me with its simplistic yet engaging style!
The story idea was quite entertaining but I would highly recommend for readers to re-read this the previous instalments if they haven’t already. The novella launches straight into the story which was left off in the previous instalment. I found the multitude of characters a bit hard to remember and all the unique and secret links/relationships they held with the other characters.
I also felt like this novella’s story didn’t really live up to what I hoped it would be. I expected a lot more about Grimblerod and Asher and Arianna’s younger siblings – which I found to be extremely exciting – and this novel didn’t really explore any of that. I sincerely hope the next instalment does!
I couldn’t spot any typos or spelling mistakes in my ARC. I enjoyed the level of grammar and the effective and meaningful prose.
Congratulations to Jamie Lee Mann on publishing her FOURTH instalment in the ‘Legend of Rhyme’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

