Review: The Life of Elves by Muriel Barbery

The Life of ElvesThe Life of Elves by Muriel Barbery
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Text Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Life of Elves’ was everything I had – COULD have – hoped it could be! Unbelievably enchanting, I fell in love with it within the first sentence. This was one of my most wanted-to-read novels in my review-copy pile, and I must say, that it has probably surpassed them ALL!
What I really loved about the novel was the standard of the writing. This is what I always look for whenever I open a book. And I was BEYOND thrilled to read such a high quality piece! The writing was incredibly complex and it took me a little while to get used to the change of sentence structure in some sentences, but when I finally adopted the rhythm, BOY DID I LOVE IT!
And the whole idea behind the story was overwhelmingly beautiful and poetic. I cannot describe how magical and surreal it was to read this astonishing novel! It was a pure treasure in my hands; one I intend to read over and over again.
I thought the plot was spectacularly laid out. Everything just made sense in the way it was laid out and presented. It pulled and made you curious then it revealed and you were in stunned awe. I thought the pace could have been picked up a little more as the middle progressed a tiny bit too slow for me. Otherwise, I have no qualms with the plot.
I was – and currently very much AM – in love with the way the novel was written. It was written in second narrative. And oh my gosh it was to DIE for! It brought an interesting depth and took place NOW and wouldn’t let you go. And the change of perspectives made it all the better. The novel didn’t just stick with Maria’s and Clara’s perspectives, it constantly changed to the ones around them, and this is also what made it so special.
The supporting characters themselves were nothing to be pushed aside. Rich, vibrant, compelling, and very, VERY real, they were beyond the creations of a pen. They were real people.
This is not a young-adult book, but I would recommend it to anyone over the age of ten. It is too spectacular to miss out on. Too much of a treasure to be passed by and left unread.
But what made it so unforgettable was the quite, powerful and awe-inspiring atmosphere that exuded itself from the novel. ‘The Life of Elves’ is truly a masterpiece, not only in the way it was written, but because it made you feel and it explored the power of nature and art to its fullest.
Congratulations to Muriel Barbery on publishing a contemporary classic! I cannot wait for the sequel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

