Review: Sorcerous, Vol.1 (Sorcerous, #1) by Hayley Bullivant

Sorcerous (Sorcerous, #1)Sorcerous by Hayley Bullivant
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hayley Bullivant in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I was super excited about ‘Sorcerous’! This is Hayley Bullivant’s debut novel and the first volume in the ‘Sorcerous’ series. I love most things magic, so I was super keen to get to know this new world and find out exactly how the author would introduce magic. I was a little bit cautious because debut novels are usually make it or break it. There are tons of debuts out there which may sound good at first glance, but really are only average and not very noteworthy. I really shouldn’t have worried so much…I loved ‘Sorcerous’!
What I noticed first, as I usually do, was how well designed and formatted everything was! Most indie or self-pubbed authors make the mistakes on not having their novels formatted correctly or they miss one or two things here or there. But NOT this one! The layout was great and the cover awesome! I think it was the number one thing that really made me go for it.
I would recommend this novel for a higher, young-adult audience, mostly because it mentions some stuff that may not be appropriate for younger teens. It only happens twice or three times, and not in very explicit detail, but just a slight word of caution. Otherwise, GO ABSOLUTELY NUTS!
If you’re into something similar to Harry Potter, than you’ll go crazy.
I enjoyed the fact that the story and plot were so detailed and planned through. It was very noticeable as I progressed through the novel, especially at the very end.
The novel also concentrated a small proportion of itself to real life issues. I thought this was a clever way to make itself more realistic and tangible. It really spiced it up for me!
The characters were absolutely wonderful! They were so interesting in the fact that they were so different from the multitude I have read of before and that they were so unique and real!
The novel was written in first person narrative and encompasses four main perspectives: Kayla’s, Angela’s, Devero’s and Christobel’s. I enjoyed this very much mainly because of the insight and depth it gave the story.
I loved the author’s writing style and how well everything was written in general. The writing flowed so well and just sounded and looked professional, mature and very skilled.
There were NO TYPOS OR SPELLING MISTAKES! I couldn’t believe my eyes! It was such a pleasure to read! I could read without having to come to a (somewhat) jarring stop every now and again and make a note of every unfortunate mistake. The grammar and prose were spectacular! Such a well-polished book! It was worthy of being published by a publishing house!
Congratulations to Hayley Bullivant on publishing her stunning debut! I look forward to the following volumes in ‘Sorcerous’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

