Review: Reflection – The Stranger in the Mirror (Records of the Ohanzee, #1) by Rachel R. Smith

Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror (Records of the Ohanzee #1)Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R. Smith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Rachel R. Smith via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

As always before I start a book, I was extremely wary of what to expect. I had this pull and push towards good excitement and bad hesitation with ‘Reflection’. I really shouldn’t have been so concerned! This was a great novel that exceeded all my expectations…and there were a lot of them!
What I noticed first was the writing. It flowed and so well! I loved how mature, confident and professional it sounded. There was not one thing that I would have picked wrong at! It instantly grabbed me in its clutches and refused to let me go. Spectacular!
The story was incredible! The whole idea of myth and a civilisation divided between two heirs was awesome! The novel offers an optional prologue which I strongly encourage you to read. It really made things better in the long run and hiked up the anticipation, drama and tension ten FOLD as I got closer and closer to the end of the book.
There were so many times when I would find myself on the edge of my seat! There were moments when I would want to shout, “No, no, no, no, no!” And throw a mini tantrum! Every single page was filled with something new: a secret or revelation that kept me spellbound.
Character development and evolvement was amazing! Each had a unique personality and history that I absolutely loved! I was constantly in awe at the variety and depth of design that went into every single one. Absolutely OUTSTANDING!
The novel was written in third person narrative and followed the perspectives of a multitude of characters. And the best thing: it wasn’t jarring, irregular or wanting in any way! The author transitioned smoothly from one characters to another with such skill and grace that it significantly raised my rating.
Of all the characters, the main female lead, Nerissa, was probably my favourite. And for good reasons! There was something about her that inspired me and made me want to get to know her better. She is a character I will definitely look put for in the sequels!
The fact that this series was written in a serial style did not push me away. Instead, this was one of those things that I found completely amazing and intriguing about ‘Reflection’. I was interested as to how the author would engage her audience if the each novel was around 300 pages instead of under 100. I was eager but prepared to face the worst.
I really shouldn’t have bothered. The author maintained a constant grip on me through all sorts of events. I felt like the conclusion of the novel was great even without a cliff-hanger. I personally am one in favour of cliff-hangers but the wholesome way everything finished appealed to me. There was plenty of stuff from the rest of the book that kept me hungering for more…and I couldn’t resist!
World building was powerful, strong and elegantly done. Everything had its place and there were no plot holes or question as to why this or that happened. There was a rich history behind the new and amazing world of Renatus.
There were absolutely NO typos or spelling mistakes. The grammar was excellent and I loved everything about the prose. Rachel R. Smith is an emerging talent!
Congratulations to Rachel R. Smith on publishing the first volume of the ‘Records of the Ohanzee’ series! I can’t wait to read more!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

