RevIew: The Angel Knights (The Angel Knights, #0.5) by Mary Ting

The Angel Knights (The Angel Knights, #0.5)The Angel Knights by Mary Ting
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Mary Ting in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Angel Knights’ is the prequel to the spinoff series of the ‘Crossroads Saga’. It follows Lucia and Zach, the seventeen-year-old children of Michael and Claudia, as they prepare for the battle of a lifetime. It have lots of insight into what would happen in the first full novel and was a sort of teaser for those who wanted to know what ‘The Chosen Knights’ would be about. I would strongly recommend this to anybody who is wary of picking up this series but would like to find out what it’s about.
With that being said, if you’re ready to pick up this series then I would have to strongly recommend reading the ‘Crossroads Saga’ first as it would give you a better insight into the plot and characters as well as history. The novella prequel does give you the basic details but I believe that it would be more enjoyable if you read the ‘Crossroads Saga’ series first and then ‘The Angel Knights’ series.
I loved the little plot the author had going. If you’re wondering whether you should pick up ‘The Angel Knights’ BEFORE ‘The Chosen Knights’, don’t. I’d strongly recommend you read the prequel.
I really enjoyed the introduction of Lucia and Zachary. They remind me so much of their parents! ESPECIALLY in their personalities and behaviour. It was interesting seeing them all grown up and behaving (almost) like adults.
The majority of the prequel was written in first person narration from Lucia’s perspective, though Claudia’s and Michael’s perspectives were added in the last chapter. The phrasing was sometimes a bit awkward and could have been worked on a little more.
There were a few formatting issues with the novella. Some chapters had a blank page at the end for no reason and this disrupted the quality and pleasure of reading the paperback. The font was a bit too large in my opinion and could be cut down.
Despite all, this was a solid three star for me.
Congratulations to Mary Ting on publishing the prequel to her new series ‘The Angel Knights’.

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

