Review: Destroyed (Soul Keeper, #2) by L.A. Starkey

Destroyed (Soul Keeper, #2)Destroyed by L.A. Starkey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Kat Ross in exchange for an honest review.

Review

After loving the finale of book one, ‘Decieved’ I was VERY ready to launch into this second instalment. I loved the whole Greek mythology twist that L. A. Starkey put on the series and after fan-girling over FINALLY getting to read a Pandora retelling, I was PUMPED AS!
A lot of the scenes were cute, corny and cheesy in a romantic way that made me fall totally in love with Sam’s love interests, Nick and Marcus. It was hilarious at times and I’d laugh out loud. If you’re looking for a good mix of romance, comedy and tragedy: then this series is for you!
I felt that the writing was good but that it could have been a lot better if it went through a professional editor. It felt too colloquial at times when the author was trying to make it sound formal or archaic. It drew back from what the author was trying to say and whatever emotions she was carrying across seemed to have been filtered half-way so that some scenes lost their potency.
However, there was great improvement in writing compared to the first novel. The flow of words came off as more professional, confident and mature. It sounded better and just read better in general.
A lot of the old characters returned in this instalment and some new minor ones were also introduced. I felt like the characters blended in a little with their personalities being so similar and sometimes it was hard to remember who was who. I believe that the author could have worked on her character establishment a little bit better.
On the other hand, evolvement of characters was great! They all slowly changed as the story progressed. They were very realistic in that sense!
Plot was good and I once again loved the idea behind it but I still believe that that author could have executed it in a better and a more effective way. I would sometimes get lost and feel like the novel dragged on a little. A few plot twists would have been nice and would have really spiced it up but if there were any in the novel, I wasn’t as touched or effected by them as I hoped to be.
But then! Oh my gosh! That cliff-hanger was just something. At the end I felt like the authoress was building up to that one BIG moment! I was not expecting it! I can’t wait for the final showdown in ‘Descent’!
Grammar is awesome! Everything was written well and there were no typos or spelling mistakes. Prose was good and well done.
Congratulations to L. A. Starkey on publishing the second instalment in the ‘Soul Keeper’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

