Review: Growing and Kissing by Helena Newbury

Growing and KissingGrowing and Kissing by Helena Newbury
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Helena Newbury in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Growing and Kissing’ is the sixth? seventh? or eighth? novel in the unofficial ‘Kissing’ series which she has recently been writing. As always, she amazes me with the high standard quality of work, time and time again. I’ve loved the passion, the zest for life and the hardships that have filled her novels so far and I genuinely couldn’t wait to launch into this newest instalment. This is the novel where we readers learn about some of the relatives that belong to the characters from the other novels. If you’re interested in ‘Growing and Kissing’, have no fear and pick it up. It can be read as a standalone but if you want to get more out of this series I’d recommend hopping over to Helena Newbury’s Goodreads page and looking through all her titles that have the word “kissing” in them. You WILL NOT be disappointed!
The novel is written in first person and is completely narrated by the two perspectives of our main leads, Sean and Louise. It follows the same alternating chapter pattern that Helena utilises in her previous novels and one I’m entirely familiar with. I enjoy the fact that, I as a reader, can see extremely well into the depth of the main characters but, to be honest, it is becoming overused.
Louise is like most of Helena’s female protagonists: resilient, feminine and completely natural. And like most, a tragedy had befallen her which she is now trying to escape or/and remedy. However, despite the cliché, I still manage to genuinely like the female leads because of their shared vulnerability to the harsh world we live in. And that despite the fact that they have been beaten down, trampled upon and chewed out, they still let themselves be open to the world in some way. And THIS is what makes them so REAL, TANGIBLE AND SPECIAL.
Sean is our cobalt eyed Irishman with a hunky body that induces fear from the males and swoons from the females. I loved reading about him not ONLY because of his attractiveness – which was SIZZLING – and his strength – BEYOND compare – but because he had a real history which he wore around himself like a cloak. It was mysterious, very enigmatic, and it made me curious and interested as to where the story would lead us. And I couldn’t wait to reach the end.
The chemistry Sean and Louise shared was so hot it was SEARING! Not to mention those scenes! Whew! I mean were they hot or what? Seriously, I you’re looking for something soul-tuggingly and heart-wrenchingly beautiful yet steamy AS HELL, then you should really pick up one of these novels. You WILL NOT regret it!
As always, the authoress had penned the novel in such a way that it sparked and pulsed with the depth and strength of those emotions. I loved the myriad she had incorporated into the plot and how they really amplified every single action, thought or word spoken by the characters.
The plot was well thought through and I loved the tension and anticipation the authoress built up with every drama that happened. It compelled me to keep reading, to keep turning that page and finding out what happened next. It was full of hidden surprises and so far, Helena Newbury’s stories have never gotten old for me. It was a journey that I enjoyed immensely as the plot unravelled and brought new depths to the book out into the open.
Grammar was very well done and I only spotted one of those pesky spelling or typing mistakes that usually pop out every now and again in ARCs. The prose was great and the dialogue had a purpose to it that I loved.
The ending was beautiful. Full of turmoil and hope found at the last second, it really was a nerve wracking conclusion to the turbulent, sexy journey that I travelled on. It was such a satisfying ending that I got little goose-bumps on my skin when I finished it. I loved this novel!
Congratulations to Helena Newbury on publishing another passionately epic novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

