Review: To Hold the Bridge – Tales from the Old Kingdom and Beyond by Garth Nix

To Hold the Bridge: Tales from the Old Kingdom and BeyondTo Hold the Bridge: Tales from the Old Kingdom and Beyond by Garth Nix
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved the first novella in ‘To Hold the Bridge’! It was an awesome piece and makes me wish that Garth Nix wrote more novellas set in the Old Kingdom. But, alas, he does not. The rest of the novellas in the novel were all good but they just didn’t capture me the way the first one did. They also had nothing to do with the Old Kingdom (hence the Beyond in the title). I find this vaguely frustrating as this happened in the previous collection of novellas Garth Nix published titled ‘Across the Wall’. It seems as if the only reason he includes the Old Kingdom novellas at the beginning is to increase sales. Oh, well. I guess that’s the publishing industry for you.
Congratulations to Garth Nix on publishing his second collection of novellas. I can’t wait for ‘Goldenhand’!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

