Review: The Invention of Hugo Cabret

The Invention of Hugo CabretThe Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

‘The Invention of Hugo Cabret’…seriously, this novel is AWESOME! I absolutely loved the way the author chose to tell the story: it was smart, touching and beautiful. The illustrations were skilfully rendered and I loved how they were all so black-and-white and made entirely out of sketches made by pencil. I have always loved such sketches! Sadly, I was one of those people who’ve actually watched the movie first and then read the book. But I must admit that I was not disappointed because the movie was exactly like the book.
The story was so touching, too! I didn’t expect myself to do it but I teared up a little! The whole story was just marvellous and I loved that it actually originated off real, historical events!
Congratulations to Brian Selznick on illustrating and publishing a great addition to children’s literature!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

